Epiphone LP Custom Pickup Advice (For Metal Primarily)

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by Roden, Oct 25, 2017.

1. Roden

Roden SS.org Regular

ALL SUGGESTIONS ARE APPRECIATED!!

I have a 2 year old Epiphone Les Paul Custom which is in really good shape and plays great. Now since i learned how to play with this guitar i wouldn't want to get rid of it but the only problem i seem to have with it (now that i started playing it again after a year of primarily 8-string) is that the stock pickups are terrible.

Sadly I am not able to get one decent sound out of them (running the guitar through Axe-Fx), so i am thinking about changing them. Now i know EMG's are the first suggestion when it comes to metal but i got them on my 8-string and I think on a guitar like this they wouldn't sound that good. I am thinking of putting Seymour Duncan Custom (SH-5) in the bridge pickup but i have no idea what i could put on the neck (maybe SD Pearly Gates). I like bands like Tool, Porcupine Tree, Megadeth and basically all the metal classics. Since i have my 8-string for technical AAL / Rings of Saturn kinda stuff i am looking to "metalize" this Epiphone LP as much as i can to play mostly metal classics and other 6-string songs.
    HELP A BROTHA OUT!!

2. KailM

KailM SS.org Regular

I had an Epiphone Les Paul for a long time and ended up putting a Dimarzio D-Sonic in the bridge. Absolutely phenomenal tone. I don't know why I sold that guitar. Oh yeah, it was to fund a new amp...:lol:

Anyway, the D Sonic is a nice medium-output pup so you can actually use a little more gain with it and it responds well to picking dynamics. The thing I loved most about it was that tight, palm muted riffs in D or C tuning stayed clear, but it didn't sacrifice low-end to achieve it. It is one of the tightest pickups I've played, yet doesn't achieve it by removing all the low-end like so many other pickups.

Roden likes this.
  3. AkiraSpectrum

AkiraSpectrum SS.org Regular