Eleven Rack

Discussion in 'Gear Reviews' started by Maestro727, Apr 9, 2014.

1. Maestro727

Maestro727 SS.org Regular

Hey guys, I wanted to spread the good word of Avid's Eleven Rack. I purchased mine from eBay for around $350 brand new without Pro Tools. I have an extensive career in playing guitar. I am a middle school guitar teacher and professional guitarist. I have played in many bands and have two tours under my belt. I have experimented with many amps and processors.
    What I like about this unit is that it sounds FANTASTIC when you dial it in. At the moment, I am running a complete rack setup that goes as follows: Douglas 7 string w/ Seymour Duncans (review to come), Furman Power Conditioner, Eleven Rack, Behringer Ultramizer (you gotta try this thing), Mesa Boogie fifty/fifty power amp and finally my Mesa Boogie Recto Slant 4X12. I have NEVER heard a better live sound with my setup. Yes, the ultramizer and the Mesas help out tremendously but the Eleven does a fantastic job of giving me great amps and effects. I love the price of this thing. I would LOVE to have an Axe Fx II. Unfortunately, I will probably NEVER spend over 3 grand for any guitar equipment. I strongly believe that you do NOT have to go bankrupt to get a guitar tone of your dreams and I have proved it.
    What I don't like. I wish the eleven had pitch-shifting effects, a looper and Avid's support. There is a great (unofficial) community for the Eleven Rack. Tons of us users upload patches for others to use and share. Unfortunately, Avid has only released one expansion pack and that was I think 3-4 years ago. I wish they had more involvement with the Eleven Rack. I also wish the Eleven Rack worked on other DAWs other than Pro Tools. I am a Logic guy so unfortunately, I cannot plug in and record. I would need to purchase a separate interface. However, I'm SURE that this thing rocks in the studio.