Elbow picking - Is it really that bad?

Discussion in 'Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques' started by eightsixboy, Oct 24, 2017.

1. eightsixboy

eightsixboy あなたのお母さんを犯さ

Hi all,

I've been experimenting a lot recently with different picking styles, mostly playing Steve Morse style 3 fingers holding the pick but also different forearm rotations.

One thing I noticed is that most are extremely tiring on either the wrist or forearm if you try and not pick from the elbow at all. The 3 finger style is very taxing on the wrist to the point of some pain some days, no wonder Steve has wrist issues now :/

So I started playing faster runs using almost strictly elbow movements now just to experiment. One thing I have noticed is that tiring is basically not an issue.

When watching players like Jason Richardson, Rusty Cooley and even Petrucci they all seem to pick from the elbow during faster runs as well.

So is picking from the elbow really that bad?

Is it just a misguided myth that all picking should be from the wrist?

2. Zender

Zender Tinkering, please hold.

Well, Steve Morse has been playing A LOT the past decades. I doubt "normal" players will get that much time in to develop the issues he is now having.

I pick mainly from the elbow, without any issues. Additional movement is from my wrist. My fingers remain more or less in the same position and are there to grip the pick.
    Looking forward to this discussion, and wondering what the benefits and drawbacks of each are.

3. KnightBrolaire

KnightBrolaire 8 string hoarder

in my experience elbow = strumming, wrist= anything more precise like alt picking/sweeping. I wouldn't say elbow picking is bad, but it is less efficient than using your wrist imo.

4. lewis

lewis SS.org Regular

to chime in,
    can anyone give any advice how to stop picking fast using your whole arm rigidly rather than just the wrist?.

Try as I might I feel like Im picking in a way that does not necessarily give me the best results.