Edge tremolo won't level out

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by elkoki, Jul 7, 2018.

1. elkoki

elkoki SS.org Regular

I just got an Ibanez Prestige RG1570 that has an Edge Pro tremolo. I'm still pretty new to tremolos so I may be doing something wrong, I need help from the experts!

I'm trying to tune to standard with 10-46 strings but it won't level out, even with the spring claw screwed all the way in. There's 3 springs in this formation \|/. I tried removing the spring retainer and adding another spring so that there is 2 springs on each side but if I do that I can't screw the spring retainer back on and the springs pop off really easily. I ordered a new set of "proline" springs thinking the ones I already have were worn out but these new ones probably have less tension and they pop off easily.

What's going on? am I doing something wrong? should I be using 9's instead? For the moment I have settled on E flat to keep the bridge a little more level, but I want to be on standard! Help please!

2. MaxOfMetal

MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator

Block it in the proper position. Unlock nut. Remove strings. Install new strings. Stretch new strings. Tune. Lock nut. Adjust fine tuners as needed. Remove blocks. Adjust Springs as needed. Done.

3. elkoki

elkoki SS.org Regular

Did you read my post?

4. MaxOfMetal

Yeah, you didn’t mention how you were doing anything. At all. Like, not even a little.

Can’t really help without starting fresh and making sure you’re setting it up using the proper methodology.

Once that’s established we can start troubleshooting.

Think of it as restarting your computer. :yesway:

5. Spaced Out Ace

Spaced Out Ace 0 0 1 0 0 6 5 0 3\

This is why I prefer tuneomatic bridges. Too much hassle just to go "meerrr-woooowwwww, weeee wooooo whooaaaaa."

Bobro and Edika like this.
  6. elkoki

elkoki SS.org Regular