Drum question:

Discussion in 'Drums & Percussion' started by Metal Ken, Apr 22, 2006.

  1. Metal Ken

    Metal Ken Hates the Air Contributor

    Messages:
    21,002
    Likes Received:
    741
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Location:
    Florida
    Okay, so here's what i want to know.

    Say, you download a midi of a song that has drums. Can you take some sort of program that uses drum samples, and then Import said midi into that program, and then use the midi instruction to cue certain samples, thus making an acoustic sounding drum track from a midi sound file?

    If so, which programs are best for this/Easiest to use?

    Thanks
     
  2. DSS3

    DSS3 Banned

    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    -
    Yes. Drumkit From Hell, Battery2 as a sample trigger, BFD, Fruity Loops IIRC, etc.
     
  3. Metal Ken

    Metal Ken Hates the Air Contributor

    Messages:
    21,002
    Likes Received:
    741
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Location:
    Florida
  4. DSS3

    DSS3 Banned

    Messages:
    1,356
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Location:
    -
    Forget what it stands for, but it sucks LOL.
     
  5. smueske

    smueske SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    Midwest
    It depends on the MIDI file. The quick answer is yes, you need something that is a sampler (whether a pre-configured sampler such as Battery, BFD, DKFHS) or something that triggers samples. You'd want to know, though, what the key mappings are, whether it's general MIDI or for some specific kit. If its generic, its probably general MIDI. Most sequencing software supports general MIDI -- you'd just have to go into the drum manager (or whatever your software calls it) and map keys to the samples.
     
    Jason likes this.
  6. Metal Ken

    Metal Ken Hates the Air Contributor

    Messages:
    21,002
    Likes Received:
    741
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Location:
    Florida
    I've actually been putting midis into Fruity loops for a while now for messing around with jam tracks and whatnot..

    BUT! Perhaps you could answer a question.
    In fruity loops, im using NS Kit 7 Free for the drum sounds.. is there anyway to adjust the way they come through? Cause the crash cymbal is WAY too fucking high in the mix and when it gets used, it drowns EVERYTHING out.. if i could pull it back it would be great.. well.. better than midi. but still.
     
  7. smueske

    smueske SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    644
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Location:
    Midwest
    The easiest way would be to see what maps to that pad in the program. I don't have it so I don't know. Alternatively, you could look at the midi track and see what note triggers the crash and then change the velocity levels of those hits.
     
  8. Jason

    Jason Forum MVP

    Messages:
    10,547
    Likes Received:
    588
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Location:
    The woods..
    Not sure but what about drumagog?
     
  9. Ken

    Ken Forum MVP

    Messages:
    2,635
    Likes Received:
    259
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Location:
    Spokane, WA
    I'm SO old school when it comes to MIDI. I still use a Korg M-1 as a sequencer, which sends MIDI data to an Alesis D4 drum sound module.

    Now, when I sequence drums or keyboards, I have Velocity as an option. If you can find this option, you should be able to tame your Crash cymbal down.
     
  10. Drew

    Drew Forum MVP

    Messages:
    26,461
    Likes Received:
    1,936
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Location:
    Somerville, MA
    Ken, I'm assuming that the midi still flows through the individual track sample modules - if that's the case, there's two knobs, one for volume and one for pan. Of course, I've never used FL for midi, so it's brobably like 87% harder than it should be and you can't do it this way, but that's where I'd start...
     

Share This Page