Drilling Bridge Ground on RG2228

Discussion in 'Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations' started by theicon2125, Feb 7, 2018.

  1. theicon2125

    theicon2125 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    133
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Hastings, Nebraska
    I have a RG2228 on the way from Reverb and a set of Fishman Fluence Tosins. I realized while planning the switch that there probably isn't a bridge ground since EMGs don't need one and neither do the Blackouts the previous owner put in. What am I in for on this process? I have never drilled into a guitar before. Would I be better having a professional do this?
     
  2. angl2k

    angl2k SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    281
    Likes Received:
    95
    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Ehhh, AFAIK blackouts still need to be grounded. My ESP shipped with Blackouts and it had a ground wire installed and wired. If it ships to you then maybe the previous owner installed a ground wire.

    Or Ibanez might just have drilled just the ground wire hole and never wired one, in that case installing one should be pretty simple.
     
  3. HUGH JAYNUS

    HUGH JAYNUS I’m a grown ass man

    Messages:
    1,739
    Likes Received:
    183
    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Location:
    SLC, UTAH
    If you do need to drill one, it’s simple. Just take the bridge off and drill at an angle towards the control cavity. It’s just a straight line and it will be hidden underneath the bridge anyway.
     
  4. Deegatron

    Deegatron SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    32
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    It helps to start the hole perpendicular and then slowly lean it over once you've got enough ledge for the drill bit to not just wander all over the place.
     
  5. Mr_Mar10

    Mr_Mar10 *space for hire*

    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    51
    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2017
    Location:
    Uk
    Possibly practice drilling at an angle on some scrap first :)

    I suggest also putting a piece of masking tape on top of body with a rough guide line on before drilling

    Have fun
     
  6. theicon2125

    theicon2125 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    133
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Location:
    Hastings, Nebraska
    That's a good idea. My boss has a pretty nice wood shop that he said I'm free to use if I ever need to so I'm sure he's got some scrap there.

    I checked out the wiring diagram for Blackouts on on the SD website and it does show a ground wire so maybe I'll get lucky.
     

Share This Page