Direct-In heavy guitar tone?

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by JD80, Sep 26, 2010.

1. JD80

JD80 SS.org Regular

Hey Guys,

I've been searching through forums again, listening to demos, etc. I can't seem to find what I'm looking for.

Is there a viable option for doing some kind of direct-in guitar tracking that gets say, 95% close to using a tube amp, a cabinet and a mic? In fact, I'd settle for 90%. But seriously, its 2010, hasn't somebody got the $hlt figured out yet?

I have a PODXT, and a Line 6 vetta II. I find the heavy guitar sounds out of those to both be severely lacking.

I'm willing to spend some money, but my "recording" "studio" is essentially my apartment with neighbors on all sides, so getting tone via cranking a tube amp through a cab isn't possible. I have a damn uberschall, but I can't use that to record here.

Sorry if this is a n00b question but, I'm a recording newbie, so that's the only kind of questions I have so far.

2. Antenna

Antenna Oh God Damnit!

3. Customisbetter

Customisbetter WhiskeyTangoFoxtrot Contributor

:scratch: I don't think you are doing it correctly. Those have produced the heaviest tones his forum have ever heard.

4. JD80

JD80 SS.org Regular

5. JD80

JD80 SS.org Regular

Well, they can be quite heavy, but they still sound pretty digital IMO, especially when recording. The Vetta 2 sounds pretty decent with the speakers (its a 2x12 combo), but again, its DI really that I'm looking for.

6. Antenna

Antenna Oh God Damnit!

Haha it is expensive, but all in all, it actually sounds like its running tubes. It's not gonna be hard to work out a good tone like line 6 products and all and it's worth every penny!

7. All_¥our_Bass

All_¥our_Bass Deathly Chuuni

+1 to AxeFX, it was basically made PRECISELY for what you're looking to do.

8. JamesM

JamesM The Armada

And made to make me want it but be unable to afford it. :(

9. Splees

Splees splees