DI box advising please

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by alvaro, Jun 26, 2017.

Tags:
  1. alvaro

alvaro ... dat chugga

Hey guys, got a question about proper setup: What kind of DI box (active, passive) would be more suitable for this studio setup?

guitar (Fishman Fluence Modern set active pickups)

Line 6 G30 wireless

ISP Decimator

Xotic SP

Whammy DT

Overdrive pedal (Precision Drive)

DI box

audio interface (via XLR cable to its mic preamp)

Revalver VST​

p.s. I am also not sure about compressor's best place: some people say it's better before the overdrive, others say after. My poor logic sense tells me that it belongs between the gate and the Overdrive.

I will appreciate any advise. Thanks a lot.

2. schwiz

schwiz Lefty

Since your pickups are active you can go either active or passive DI box. I have the BOSS DI-1 and its really nice. The Radial, Countryman, or Littlelabs DI boxes are good too. I'm no expert but I think you want the DI at the beginning of your chain, but I could be wrong. I'd put it after your wireless unit and see what your wave forms look like as opposed to putting it after your OD pedal.

Edit: I'd actually do exactly what I mentioned, and use the parallel out for your FX chain. This will capture 2 signals. Your completely dry signal, then the one with your FX chain. That way if you need the DI for any reason, you have it.

Guitar -> Wireless -> DI BOX -> Preamp
    Guitar -> Wireless -> DI BOX (Parallel Out) -> ISP Decimator -> etc.

3. jerm

jerm SS.org Regular

Also your Decimator should be the last pedal from your guitar (right before the amp/interface)

4. alvaro

alvaro ... dat chugga