Coil tapping Fluence moderns

Discussion in 'Pickups, Electronics & General Tech' started by elkoki, Jan 3, 2019.

1. elkoki

elkoki SS.org Regular

I'd like to coil tap my Fluence Moderns using a push pull pot not a mini switch.

How can I do this? I contacted Fishman but never got a response, i'd like to be able to use voice 1,2 and coil tapping. I think this might be manageable using 2 push pull pots. The guitar's config is like this : 2 humbuckers, 3 way toggle switch, 1 volume and 1 tone. Would like to have 1 pot for voice switching and the second pot for coil tapping. Can anyone help? I'm new to Fluence's and their customer service has been in all honesty useless.

JustinRhoads1980 likes this.
  2. JustinRhoads1980

JustinRhoads1980 Jackson Elitist

I agree with you about Fishman Tech Support! They have been useless to me at times and when I ask them questions about purchasing other pickups from them they seem so annoyed at the fact that I ask whether x pickup is more suited for me compared to x pickup and other stuff I would ask them they would seem annoyed.

Anyways heres some info that might be of help (note you will have to combine 2 diagrams to get an idea of how you would have to wire everything up):

https://www.fishman.com/wp-content/...ssic_Open_Core_1xVol_1xT_Toggle_Switch_9V.pdf

Now I know that this is for a classic set, but the principle still applies. You just eliminate the HF tilt wires and have them taped off.

Now you use this ---> https://www.fishman.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/fluence_humbucker_coil_tapping.pdf to figure out how you wire it for the coil splitting.

I know this might seem a bit confusing and I wish I could be there in person to help you out since fishman really does lack a lot of the resources for the consumers. Hell I was told that they don't have the "manpower" to make any more wiring diagrams, lmao.