Cheap Active Full-range Loudspeakers for Axe FX

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by ItWillDo, May 20, 2012.

1. ItWillDo

ItWillDo MOUTHOFTHERIVER

So considering I'm playing in two bands now (one that gigs often, and one that gigs rarely) I decided to move my power amp & cabinet to the practice room of the band that gigs often.

This leaves me with the problem that I don't have an amplifier now in the practice room of the other band so I'm playing through the PA there (which pretty much sucks) and i'm looking to solve this by buying myself an active loudspeaker to serve as a poweramp+cab-combo. The second problem is that I'm still a student and I'm not doing too damn well financially since I had to buy a 7-string to use in the new band. My budget is about 400-450 euros MAX. This isn't much (at all) but it's the best I can do for now.

I've been looking at the active speakers at Thomann, and I'm mostly interested in the 15" ones (considering I've been told that these have a superior bass-response) and Behringer seems to have some interesting deals, but I'm always slightly concerned with their quality.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

2. otisct20

otisct20 SS.org Regular

I believe Behringer makes 15 inch 550w active speakers for pretty cheap.

3. JStraitiff

JStraitiff Melodic Mamma Jamma

Someone has a thread about the alto speakers. They claim they sound really good.

4. OrsusMetal

OrsusMetal In brightest day...

The 12" ones will have PLENTY off low end. Especially if the AxeFx is driving it. You have so many eq'ing options with the Axe you can get a ton of range. That will also make it a bit cheaper, too.

I'm using the JBL Prx612M, which I believe is above your budget. But well worth the price.

5. ItWillDo

ItWillDo MOUTHOFTHERIVER

Yeah, if I had the extra cash I'd go for the PRX612 but money's too tight to mention.

So I think I'll give the Alto TS112's a shot. :yesway:

6. Bevo

Bevo SS.org Regular