Carvin Dilemma - Should it stay or should it go?

Discussion in 'Sevenstring Guitars' started by The Logician, Jun 10, 2012.

1. The Logician

The Logician The Smurfslayer

Hello, Forum --

I am a 16 year-old guitarist from Portland, OR, and I've recently gotten into seven-string guitars (I know I may seem young and noobish, but I get by). Anyway, I bought a Carvin DC727 a few months ago for about $925 (before shipping).

Here are the things I like about the guitar:
    -The finish is flawless (the color combo is gaudy, but I like it that way).
    -The neck, while cumbersome at first, became comfortable quite quickly.
    -It's not heavy at all!

However, I have some issues:
    -The 25.5-inch scale length doesn't cut it for the low string... I like my strings to be taut with low action so I can play them like a piano.
    -The controls are irritating -- the guitar came with two coil-splitting switches, but they are too close to the pickup selector, and that makes it very difficult to switch to my neck pup in a pinch.
    -The pups aren't very good... I can't seem to find a rhythm sounds with enough clarity.
    -I don't love the independent-saddle bridge. I'm having a lot of trouble finding that sweet spot with the action (when it plays just right, it buzzes). I had a luthier check it out, but he didn't help.

Overall, it's not as lovely to play as my other guitars [Carvin CT624 & Rally Blue Harlem (killer Korean-made Jazz Box!)]

In addition, I recently ran into this beauty:
    Agile Intrepid Pro Dual 72728 EB CA Oceanburst DOT B Stock - RondoMusic.com

I already have a disposition toward Korean builds, and I don't mind that this guitar has a finish flaw, as long as that's the only reason it's B-stock. Does anyone have input as to whether I should replace my Carvin? My budget is currently about a grand *without selling the DC727. Feel free to suggest other replacements... long scales and fanned frets are plusses in my book!

2. Stealthdjentstic