Carvin Custom Shop DC747

Discussion in 'Guitar Reviews' started by renzoip, Feb 15, 2009.

1. renzoip

renzoip I Am the Table

Features:

- DC747 7 String Guitar
    - Floyd Rose Bridge With Locking Nut
    - Mahogany Body
    - Maple Neck
    -Ruby Red Quilted Maple Top
    - Deep Triple Set Satin Process
    - Matching Headstock
    - 5 Piece Lam Maple Neck w/ 2 Walnut Stripes
    - Neck Not Shown on Top of the Body
    - Birdseye Maple Fingerboard
    - No top Inlays (Side Dots Only)
    - Stainless Steel Jumbo Frets
    - Tung Oiled Finish Back of Neck
    - Black Hardware
    - Engraved Truss Rod Cover: RI-7
    - Vintage Tweed Case

Sound:

I really like the sound of this guitar. It's a little brighter than you would normally expect from a Mahogany guitar but I do enjoy that. I had been playing basswood guitars for a few years already and had forgotten how awesome Mahogany sounded. It still has that solid low end but not as dark. The clarity on this thing is AMAZING. I know a lot of people complain about the pickups and I can see why. However, I am really digging them. It's interesting how most like the neck pickup better than the bridge but in my case the opposite is true. The bridge pickup is medium output, it is crunchy but it will not push/overdrive your amp like an EMG/X2N would. It does not have a bass response like a Tone Zone/Blaze custom either. It's very balanced, and clear so all you low and high notes have definition and cut through. The neck pickup is also medium gain and it is really nice and smooth, great for leads. Again, bassyness is somewhat sacrificed in favor of clarity here; I particularly enjoy this since it allows me to get a beautiful clean sound on the neck pickup without it sounding too fat or dark. However, I would have preferred it having a little higher output but it no problem since I have a lead boost. The single coil of course has a lower output than the humbuckers but it's relatively loud (still wish it was louder) and clear,