Can you record with pedals only? With no amp?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by quaileqqs, Jan 11, 2019.

  1. quaileqqs

    quaileqqs SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Location:
    CA
    I want to be able to record and practice directly into my DAW. Im confused on the difference between preamp pedals and power amp pedals.

    Do I need a power amp pedals like the Seymour Duncan Powerstage and run it into a Twonotes Torpedo, or can I use a preamp pedals with cab Sims like the Horizon Devices Apex?
     
  2. ATRguitar91

    ATRguitar91 SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    52
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Location:
    West Virginia
    You can use a preamp pedal into an interface and then use IRs for the cab, I do this all the time.

    With something like the Apex Preamp you could run it straight into the interface with no need for an IR, but I'd wager an external IR would sound better.
     
  3. Bearitone

    Bearitone SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    672
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    You need a poweramp to drive speakers. If all you want to do is record direct then all you need is a preamp and some sort of cab sim

    You could totally do he APEX and just use the built in cab sim.
     
  4. quaileqqs

    quaileqqs SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 25, 2015
    Location:
    CA
    Cool! Any suggestions other than the Apex preamp? I like that it has a built in cab sim but it's a little too metal oriented for me. I'd like to have good cleans as well - and the Two Notes is a pricey.
     
  5. wedge_destroyer

    wedge_destroyer SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2016
    Location:
    Fort Wasted, Indiana
    You can also go straight to a DAW through an interface and then use VST (helix native is always a good option) and Ir loaders. I've used the one native to presonus studio1 for rough ideas or to monitor while putting down clean takes for later reamping.

    Reread I've also used a tech21 clone to do it as well with an Ir loader in the DAW.
     
  6. Bearitone

    Bearitone SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    672
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    The entire line AMT Legend 2 series preamp pedals have two channels (clean and high-gain) and a built in cab sim.

    Check out the R2, P2, E2, O2, S2, etc...

    Other than those you’ll be hard pressed to find many two channel preamp pedals at all, let alone ones with a built in cab sim

    Edit: okay maybe there are some two channel ones out there but not a lot with a dedicated “clean” and a dedicated “high gain”. It’s usually like a rythym & lead, or clean & crunch
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2019
    devastone likes this.
  7. LeftOurEyes

    LeftOurEyes SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    23
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2016
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    The mooer preamp pedals are good for the price. They have models based on metal and non metal amps. Two channels, stored presets for each channel, and built in cab sim also though a 3rd party IR will probably sound better.
     
    Spinedriver and devastone like this.
  8. Bearitone

    Bearitone SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    3,046
    Likes Received:
    672
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Doh! Forgot mooer.
     
  9. budda

    budda Guiterrorizer Contributor

    Messages:
    22,694
    Likes Received:
    2,703
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    London ONT
    Half the time I just use garageband and skip anything else altogether. Given I'm not trying to make a professional sounding album, it works fine for my uses. Sure there's better sounding stuff out there, but I'm essentially just creating scratch tracks.
     
  10. Andromalia

    Andromalia Pardon my french

    Messages:
    7,346
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    Paris, France
    If you're using just pedals, you don't need a torpedo, you can just purchase a Two notes C.A.B, which is basically a torpedo for pedals and without a load (so you cant plug an amp on it) for half the price tag. It will allow you more leeway in terms of cabs and microphone emulation than a single fixed out on a pedal.
     
  11. Bentaycanada

    Bentaycanada SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    252
    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    The Mooer preamp pedals are great direct into an audio interface. I did demos with 2 or 3 of them and was very impressed with the quality, especially for the price.
     
  12. tender_insanity

    tender_insanity SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    111
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Location:
    Finland, h*ll yeah!
    Recoring with pedals and IR gives quite a nice results. And even with pedal simulator vst's into IR's.
    Like, an instant Steve Vai PAW -era sound is with tube screamer, boss ds-1 and a marshall 4x12 IR.
     
  13. Lindmann

    Lindmann SS.org Rectangular

    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    245
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Location:
    Planet earth
    You can even play through a cab without an amp.
    I once tried this:
    Guitar -> Pedal -> Interface in -> Interfce out (volume maxed) -> 2x12 cab
    It was loud enough to call it good living room practise volume.
    Should be possible with an ampsim as well.
     

Share This Page