Book recommendation?

Discussion in 'Movies, Books, TV & Media' started by sezna, Dec 14, 2015.

1. sezna

sezna undermotivated

I'm a college student, and it is Christmas break, so I've got some time. I am having trouble finding good material though, because my taste is a little weird.

I like older books, not huge into modern novels, although I will make an exception if someone is insistent! Books I have liked in the past include The Portrait of Dorian Gray, Tom Sawyer, This Side of Paradise, Moby Dick (although I don't think I could finish another book of that size during this break..). I love everything Tolkien and C.S. Lewis.

Any ideas?

2. Winspear

Winspear Tom Winspear Vendor

I love Tolkein and CS Lewis too, and my favourite books by far are the His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman. Wikipedia says it better than I could; "the trilogy functions in part as a retelling and inversion of John Milton's epic Paradise Lost,[1] with Pullman commending humanity for what Milton saw as its most tragic failing, original sin."
    Excellent gripping fantasy books that just keep getting better throughout.
    If you saw the movie of the first book - forget it and don't judge. If you didn't see the movie, just don't.

3. sezna

sezna undermotivated

I read that a while ago actually. I was very young, though. I remember finishing the first book and not getting through the second. I also have heard bad things about the third one.

I might get back into it - do you recommend all three?

4. Sumsar

Sumsar SS.org Regular

I love reading, but as I am Danish, and therefore primarily read books by danish or scandinavian authors, you probably will not be able to get a hold of them.

For English books though I am currently reading through all the Game of Thrones, which is great. They are popular for a reason, they are seriously great (and better than the tv-series), so yeah if you haven't read any of them I recommend them :)