Axe-Fx & Redwirez Question

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Phreeck, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. Phreeck

    Phreeck New Member

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Hey,

    I see a lot of people talking about using the Axe-Fx with Redwirez cab simulators.

    Is the point to take away from this that a £2000 piece of kit can't emulate cabs as well as some $100 software? So the idea is to use the axe to emulate the head and then the software for the cab?

    Or am I missing something?
     
  2. Pedrojoca

    Pedrojoca Gear Whore

    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    ermm :ugh: erm :ugh:

    now seriously...

    Axe Fx comes stock with it's own cab simulator, which is one of the best there are, at least from the ones that are modelled after real cabs. Basically, they analyzed the changes (or EQing) that a certain cab does to a sound and modelled their cabs after it.
    Impulses, on the other hand, are actually made from real equipment, from the cabs they represent without changing the sound a single bit (well, actually it's impossible to be 100% accurate).
    Check this out: http://www.sevenstring.org/forum/recording-studio/79670-impulse-faq-tutorial-thread.html
    So, the axe fx cab sim is good enough to record and gig with, but if you can use a nearly identical version of the actual cab (Impulses), why the hell would you want to use the cab sim. Well, actually this applies if the impulses are really well made (redwirez case), plus if a cab sim did an original cab, instead of just copying real ones and tweaking it to "perfection", maybe it would be more useful. Not bashing cab sims here :nono:
     
  3. KingAenarion

    KingAenarion Resident Studio Nerd

    Messages:
    3,577
    Likes Received:
    156
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2010
    Incorrect :nuts:

    The AxeFX uses Impulses...

    The impulses it uses in the original aren't as good as the impulses Redwirez make (which are some, if not THE best JUST cabinet impulses out there). In the original there are spots for user chosen Impulses (which a lot of people filled with Redwirez)

    The AxeFX II has Redwirez included.


    Putting Redwirez in an AxeFX one is like putting a turbocharger in your car. The car runs great without the turbocharger... but with it it's something special.
     
  4. danieluber1337

    danieluber1337 ☻☺☻☼☺☻☺

    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    56
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Yep. It uses impulses.

    I'd use iFace to pick the cab, too. Unless you've bought/you're going to buy the whole cab set. IDK if the RedWirez convolver does this, but iFace allows you to blend two cabs, EQ and create an IR file from it, so you get two cab IRs and EQ all in one IR file. Though I'd prefer to do the EQ on the Axe-FX...
     
  5. Phreeck

    Phreeck New Member

    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Ok guys, thanks for clearing that up for me :)
     
  6. Sepultorture

    Sepultorture Murder Machine

    Messages:
    5,022
    Likes Received:
    181
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    the Redwirez convolver does let you combine 2 cabs, maybe more i think, check out what it does on the website, but it does let you select 2 cabs for sure
     
  7. Pedrojoca

    Pedrojoca Gear Whore

    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    33
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    ooops... i really thought they were modelled.... silly me :lol:
     
  8. Crank

    Crank Mike / Made Of Hate

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    did any of you install those redwirez cabs on axe-fx ultra? I'm thinking about it and I'd use a help. What do I do? There is one free IR on Redwirez and I'd like to try it. Any steps?
     
  9. MF_Kitten

    MF_Kitten Set up us the bomb

    Messages:
    11,332
    Likes Received:
    1,770
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    go look for the axe-fx manual, dude. or the wiki. just google it. Redwirez impulses come with axe-fx formatted files. i think the first axe-fx has to be connected via MIDI to transfer stuff? not sure how it works.
     
  10. Crank

    Crank Mike / Made Of Hate

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    yeah it's midi connection and I know that. I thought since we're in the topic someone could share it as 'easy steps'. Googling it I found this thread.

    Redwirez cabs come with .syx files that are operated in Axe-Fx. But do I actually add them using axe-edit? Or is it drag-drop? I just don't know so I'm asking if someone did it and if so could he share the procedure in some easy-to-do-steps. That's all.
     
  11. nojyeloot

    nojyeloot SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    510
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    I've done this a few times before, but most recently just did this again last night.

    Use Axe Edit (once your Ultra is connect w/ a USB to MIDI interface):

    1. Click Axe Manage and you can drag/drop your .syx impulses under the "Cabs" area.
    2. THEN, in Axe Manage under "Cabs", right click each impulse you just dragged/dropped and send to one of the 10 cabinet banks (you'll see the progress bar at the bottom of the window move).
      View attachment 22459
    3. Once you've loaded all the impulses, click on "User Cabs" and you will see all your new cabs there, with a red circle icon to the left of the name. THEY'RE NOT ON YOUR AXEFX YET.
    4. Right click any of the impulses under "User Cabs" and go down to "Send to Axe FX" and select "All Cabs" or any other option you want.
      View attachment 22460
    5. You will now have these impulses available to you in your AxeFX
     
  12. Crank

    Crank Mike / Made Of Hate

    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    thank you very much!!!
     
  13. nojyeloot

    nojyeloot SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    2,670
    Likes Received:
    510
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Pleasure duder... :hbang:

    PS - I love the products of your country (Vik / Decapitated)... :cool:
     

Share This Page