Axe FX help. Poweramp, cables.

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Rockyy, Aug 30, 2011.

  1. Rockyy

    Rockyy SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hey!

    I'm almost overwhelmed and done buying an Axe FX, standard.
    So, I mainly going to use it for rehearsal/live. But for recording also.

    How good is the Rocktron velocity 300? Becuase of my price range, thats the most affordable to me. I need some good reviews of it.

    Also.. What cables should I get? I got a Macbook 13" alu, thats the one before Apple released the Macbook Pro 13".
    I want it like this: Axe-FX->Macbook->Logic pro. I don't have Firewire, can you use a USB cable?

    Others from that. What cables do I need to do this: Axe-FX->poweramp->cabinet ?
     
  2. TaylorMacPhail

    TaylorMacPhail Heisenberg

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Location:
    New Dominion, PE, Canada
  3. Rockyy

    Rockyy SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    Sry, but that thread is kind of inactive. You get much more help writing here..


    Thats kind of expensive. I just need a interface to use Axe-Edit, so I can get tweak some on the computer. Am I right? So the cheapest out there that works.

    The carvin did cost like 100€ more then the Rocktron in my country.
     
  4. TaylorMacPhail

    TaylorMacPhail Heisenberg

    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Location:
    New Dominion, PE, Canada
    Oh yeah man, there are definitely cheaper options, I was just showing the KIND of unit you would need. You can get some for $50 or less.
     
  5. Rockyy

    Rockyy SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    Which one is a good cheap option? That works with a MacBook..
     
  6. Joelan

    Joelan Ukulele Shredder

    Messages:
    495
    Likes Received:
    69
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    If you want to record, the Fast Track Pro is probably one of the cheaper options. It basically saves you $50 on a midi interface as well as being a great recording interface.

    You should have a good read of the stickied Axe-FX thread. You may decide you want to try an FRFR setup instead of a poweramp and cab.
     
  7. Rockyy

    Rockyy SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Location:
    Denmark
    So you can record and use Axe-Edit together with ONLY the fast track pro?
    It did just cost like 90€ used in my country, cheaper then only a MIDI interface.

    I should read some in the Axe-FX thread yes, but i'm holding on into that I want to use a poweramp and cab
     
  8. Andromalia

    Andromalia Pardon my french

    Messages:
    6,668
    Likes Received:
    609
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Location:
    Paris, France
    Well, it's inactive because every attention grabber buying an axe wants his own topic, seriously, there's another asking the same exact fucking question on the same page.
     

Share This Page