Are you happy with your job as a professional musician?

Discussion in 'General Music Discussion' started by george galatis, Dec 8, 2009.

Are you happy with your job as a professional musician?

1. Yes

8 vote(s)
    61.5%
  2. No

5 vote(s)
    38.5%
  1. george galatis

george galatis SS.org Regular

Hey guys! I'm a student from cyprus, i study jazz-music performance
    at the university of nicosia (University of Nicosia - Cyprus - Home) and i need your
    help to finish my research paper untill that monday (14/10/09)

The question is: Are you happy with your job as a professional musician?

Please vote simply what do you belevie about it, and for sure there's no need to show your self or something,
    BUT if you like to, you can help more if you share your problems about - or the good things about your job;
    as a professional musician of course!

Thank you a lot!

2. Bleak

Bleak SS.org Regular

I can't answer 100% one way or another.

In this economy, it's hard. Nobody has the extra coin to spend on something seen as an extra luxury like a guitar lesson, or a night out at the bar to see X band. People are less reliable because of it, and so is your income. For me, it's been a BIG issue.

On the other hand, I absolutely LOVE what I do. I have a ton of fun. But, in reality, I can't get by on virtually nothing for a whole lot longer.

3. Otaraxia

Otaraxia SS.org Regular

I teach kids how to play keyboards in the Los Angeles Unified school district. I get paid 15 bucks an hour. I work part time. And, I absolutely love it. I most defineltly am not rich. But, I am happy doing what I do. But, that's just me.

4. Koshchei

Koshchei Banned

It's impossible to make a living as a professional musician unless you are EXTREMELY lucky and manage to get into writing commercial jingles or movie scores. Otherwise you'll eek out a miserable living from teaching, and then incur huge debt by touring or releasing anything.