Are expensive pedals worth it?

Discussion in 'Drums & Percussion' started by Lethe, May 7, 2012.

1. Lethe

Lethe SS.org Regular

so I've been playing on and off for about a year now, still in many ways a rookie, starting out with a cheap double pedal.

I was wondering if I should bite the bullet now and buy one of those direct drive pedals (Demon Drive, Axis, Trick...) to have an easier time getting fast or if it's better to wait for a while and develop my chops first, then get the pedal.

I know I still have to do the practice work with any pedal, but will I have an easier time getting good with one of those top-of-the-line pedals?

2. amonb

amonb Les Pauls forever Contributor

OOps, I started to respond then realised I have no idea. As you were.

3. VBCheeseGrater

VBCheeseGrater not quite a shredder

I'm a closet drummer, learned over the years by jammin on the drummer's kit in any band i've been in. I can always tell the difference between a good double bass set up. There are some that feel much better than others to me, much easier to enforce my will on the drums, if that makes sense, so i think it makes a pretty big difference. That's all i got for ya, hopefully a real drummer can tell you some specifics.

4. Kerosian

Kerosian SS.org Regular

If you want to get better faster, I recommend getting a nice direct drive pedal. They really are worth the money, but make sure you really want to stick with drumming before throwing down 500+ on a pedal. I have Trick Dominator's myself and I can tell you they are worth every penny.

5. Leuchty

Leuchty Previously CYBERSYN

Find the pedals that are most comfortable to use, then...

Practice your testicles off.

:metal:

Metronome is a drummers best friend ;)

6. AngstRiddenDreams

AngstRiddenDreams Filthy Casual

In my opinion, the really really expensive pedals are only a bit better than the midrange ones. For instance, my Pearl Eliminator 2002 Belt Drive is almost as nice as the Demon Drive.