Anyone know about mics/live gear for a singer?

Discussion in 'Live Performance & Stage Sound' started by jco5055, Jun 27, 2018.

1. jco5055

jco5055 SS.org Regular

Hi guys,

I've looked for multiple sites/forums with no luck, so I'll try here.

So I'm also a singer besides a guitarist. In my only previous live experience another band member had a full PA/mics etc so I never thought about this before, but I want to get all the stuff live wise I'd need as a singer.

It took me forever to even find what a singer would theoretically need to bring to a gig, and assuming the venue doesn't have the gear it appears I would need a mic and PA system.

I have some questions about that:

- I definitely prefer wireless systems, but when I look at wireless systems they seem overall to be cheaper than individually buying a mic/transmitter. Is there a reason? Like are the combos similar to guitar combos where it's usually beginner quality gear? Because some of the transmitters/mics are VERY expensive (like $3k just for a transmitter) Should I just buy cheaper stuff and it's excepted/expected that only venues can afford the highest end equipment, just like how the full version of pro tools is like $11k?

Any guides to buying PA systems out there, or just in general singing gear guides or suggestions? It seems like there is almost no info out there about singing gear, which to be honest I don't get excited about singing gear like I do guitars etc but it's still a necessity.

Thank you!

2. MaxOfMetal

MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator

Unless you're playing in backyards and basements, there's usually a PA. Maybe bring your own mic, stand and cable if you have specific preferences.

Besides that, it really depends on your budget. You can grab a super basic PA setup, mic, mixer, power amp and speakers (or powered speakers) and all associated cabling for a few hundred dollars, but without knowing how much volume you're going to need it's hard to really recommend anything.