Any powerlifters here? First meet on Saturday, need pointers!

Discussion in 'Lifestyle, Health, Fitness & Food' started by AdenM, Jul 16, 2015.

1. AdenM

AdenM Illuminaughty

So my first powerlifting (mock/non-sanctioned) meet is on Saturday. It's a cancer benefit, etc., etc. After spinning my wheels for about 2-3 years in bodybuilding style training, I've been powerlifting for the past 3 1/2 months, and I love it. I'm doing this meet to gain a feel for the competitive side of the sport. I'm mid cut (200 to about 163) and am currently at 172, at about 5'9". I was planning on these lifts: Bench: 165/185/195-205 Deadlift 235/265-270/290-295 and Squat 205/225/235-240, being able to rep all my second attempts 5x5 (5/3/1 for deadlift) comfortably. Any pointers or tips for both my numbers and general meet issues or problems? I'm not incredibly nervous for my lifts, just at the prospect of grinding over 235 for squat and failing, as I haven't had a chance to squat from an open/regulation rack yet. Thanks alot in advance guys!

2. watson503

watson503 Los Cochinos

I trained and competed from the late 80s when I was in high school up until 2009, I didn't intend on retiring from the sport and still miss it - I think about making another run at an elite total but it'd probably kill me this time lmao The most important things off the top of my head - depending on what and where you are lifting, get a good grasp of the rules for the sanctioning fed as they can vary from fed to fed. Warm-ups - they are just that, don't over-tax yourself in the warm-up room and I always made my first lift my last warm-up. Just start with the bar and go up from there doing triples or doubles - even easy singles, just enough to get you warm and ready to lift.