Another instrumental metal post. Would also like some opinions on my mixing.

Discussion in 'Live Performance & Stage Sound' started by ZombieLloyd, May 29, 2017.

1. ZombieLloyd

ZombieLloyd Not one 7 string

Hey guys. As I said in the title, this is another instrumental metal post. There seems to be quite a few on here. I'm a solo artist and aside from making my Youtube videos, I pretty much don't have the opportunity to play live, does Youtube even count as "live performance"? Anyway, I used to make music under my real name a few years ago just for fun. Now I want to take music more seriously as it's really what I want to spend my life doing and I'd like people's opinions on my mixing so I can get better. I like the way it is now, but since there's always room for improvement I'd love to hear people's thoughts. The video I'm linking to is my latest video, just uploaded on Saturday. The mixing on the other songs are pretty much the same, aside from the bass being a little louder here.

Dantas likes this.
  2. Dantas

Dantas SS.org Regular

Great song, man! It's seems fun to play, and I liked how it changed pace at the solo.

If you accept some suggestions, I think the drums are a bit louder than the guitars....I don't know how much guitar overdubs you did (and how they are panned in the mix), or the intensity of the beats are too high, but if you find a balance between the two It would improve a already great song! Also, the second part of the lead (where you harmonize with a overdub) it's overshadowing a little bit the rest.

But the most important, the tone of the guitar and the drum sounds are great and well dialed! If you find that sweet spot in the mix, you make this song even better than it is. Keep doing it, man! :hbang:

ZombieLloyd likes this.
  3. ZombieLloyd