Amp/fx modeler as preamp, what rig(poweramp/cab) do I need?

Discussion in 'Beginners/FAQ' started by Demartan, Oct 1, 2017.

1. Demartan

Demartan SS.org Regular

Hi,

I've been a 'poor' combo user for most of my life. Not too long ago I switched from a combo to a modeler (POD HD500X) for practicing at home. I'm just plugging the pod output into my home speaker/PA system. And tbh I'm loving the pod :)

Which means I want to build a rig in which I use my pod as the amp modeler.
    Did a small bit of searching and it looks like I need a poweramp and a cabinet for this to work. However, I am a total newbie in stacks/poweramps/cabs I have no clue what to look for.

Are there any specific things I need to look for/pay extra attention to, or any other recommendations you guys have?

Cheers!

2. mnemonic

mnemonic Custom User Title

If you're happy to use the cab models in the POD, then a powered speaker or studio monitors will work. These both contain a poweramp inside the speaker cab.

Passive PA cabs and passive studio monitors will require a seperate poweramp, however.

There are PA-oriented stuff that works fine, like Alto TS series, basically any powered PA speaker. While they are theoretically all flat response, nothing is perfect, so in general the cheap stuff won't sound as good. If you can, try before you buy.

There is also some more guitar-oriented flat-response(ish) powered speakers like the Atomic CLR, and Friedman ASM. They get pricey quick though.

If you prefer not to use cab models and use a real cab (personally I think PODs are great but their cab modelling is sub-par and really let the unit down, however that's just my opinion, plenty of people think they're fine), you can get a poweramp and guitar cab.

Guitar cabs do not contain poweramps, so you will need a separate poweramp.