Amp Build: The Old One (Cameron Aldrich inspired)

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by technomancer, Aug 4, 2018.

1. technomancer

technomancer Gearus Pimptasticus Super Moderator

I've wanted one of these for quite some time, and since I don't have another spare $3k+ to buy a Cameron one-off I decided to build myself one.

This is my first build, and I'm open to constructive criticism, but please be gentle :rofl:

I REALLY hate the small turrets I had to use on this, but since Watts Tube Audio screwed me on my order I had to use what I could get quickly (ordered 6/12, still hasn't shipped and ignores all emails etc). I think going forward I'll be using the large turrets from Amplified Parts on future builds as I grabbed a pack of them and they seem nice.

I'm almost done with the board so thought I'd throw some pics of that up. I still need to solder in the tone stack, get some glue on to help hold the large filter caps, and wire up the underside before it's done.

Resistors are PRP 1w, caps are mostly CDE 715 Orange Drops. The big 1uF caps in the preamp are CDE 225s since there aren't any 715s of that value. Ceramic caps are Muratas. This will use DC heaters which I'm putting on a separate board. I was going to just tack them on the end of the main board but it would have gotten hung up on the power/standy switches and power indicator.

I'm using a Classic Tone transformers: 40-18069 power transformer, NOS17482 output transformer, and 40-18058 3H choke.

Thanks to the guys at the SLOclone forum for sharing so much information on amp building.

Also, thanks to Mark Cameron for creating the design, and being a hell of a nice guy in my interactions with him. He helped me on a number of questions I had with this build.

Zado, Edika, Hollowway and 18 others like this.
  2. FourT6and2

FourT6and2 SS.org Regular

Reported.
    First builds aren't supposed to be this good. ;)

3. technomancer