Active DI Box vs Pad on Interface

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by Mike_R, May 11, 2018.

1. Mike_R

Mike_R SS.org Regular

I've just started trying to track DIs for use with VSTs and reamping. I am a total novice at recording and I have been trying to soak up as much as I can, but I have run into a bit of an issue. I've searched on this topic and found some recommendations, but I am looking for help prioritizing gear acquisition.

I have an MBox 3 interface, and I have been able to track most of my guitars/pickups without clipping by adjusting the gain on the interface. When trying to track my guitar with a Nazgul in the bridge I found that it clips on chords even with the gain adjusted to minimum. I found out the interface has a -20 db "pad", so I tried activating that. At minimum gain there is no clipping, but as I start to bring the gain back up with the pad I run into clipping again with the gain around noon.

With the pad off, gain at min the guitar sounds pretty good through VSTs despite the clipping. With the pad engaged and gain even up to the point where it clips, it just sounds kind of dead and lifeless. I have read a good active DI box can help prevent clipping and improve DI quality and am considering picking up a Countryman 85 to get a balanced output for the interface, but is it likely I will still be unhappy with the sound through VSTs?

I am trying to prioritize between the instrument DI and a Two Notes Captor to get a DI out of my amp. I appreciate any input or advice someone might have for me!

2. TedEH

TedEH Cromulent

I used to doubt the value of a good DI until I got one. I use it to record bass, and I much prefer the results to using just the instrument inputs on my interface. Honestly, a good DI is just a useful tool to have all around. The last show I played I got a bunch of compliments on "my tone", but it was literally just that same DI to front of house (it's one of those Radial passive ones).

buriedoutback likes this.