Accidentally Joined a Deathcore band, help me with songwriting.

Discussion in 'Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques' started by jonajon91, Feb 4, 2018.

1. jonajon91

jonajon91 New Picture

I've been part of bands for all of my life, but I had a busy year or so and had to stop playing with people, I had the opportunity to play some metal (vague) with some people and to be honest I was just happy to be playing bass again. These guys are name dropping Carnifex every few minutes so Ill absolutely be starting there, but I need recommended listening material and songs to learn to get the style down.

Not to blow my own trumpet too much, but I am a pretty solid bassist with backgrounds in prog (metal) and big band jazz, the last band I was in was straight 2008 metalcore which did nothing for me at all, but I was good friends with the guys. I think the closest I listen to deathcore is 'Slice the cake' who absolutely kill it in my eyes, other than that, metal wise I listen to lots of Gojira, Ne Obliviscaris and Leprous. Whatever I'm writing always has huge gojira influence. I've bought a few songs to the table so far, the only one I've been happy with was pretty much just techy deathmetal so I've sworn to write some straight deathcore over the next few days.

Can you guys recommend me A) some middle of the road, straight Deathcore tracks and B) some Deathcore that I might enjoy as someone that likes slower, groovier (taking into account the bands I mentioned I liked before).

Cheers.

2. KnightBrolaire

KnightBrolaire grossly incandescent

check out old job for a cowboy or all shall perish. JFAC switched to more straight death metal around sun eater iirc

DudeManBrother and Mathemagician like this.
  3. Mathemagician

Mathemagician SS.org Regular

Demonocracy is a great JFAC album.

White Chapel, early Born of Osiris.

Also, Bring me The Horizon’s first album. Everything from Sempiturnal onward is awesome but NOT deathcore. Their most recent album was a Linkin Park record.