A good amp to get close

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by soldierkahn, Sep 13, 2018.

1. soldierkahn

soldierkahn BAD MAMMA-JAMMA Contributor

As I've finally got the instrument finally dialed in to everything I want (DCM100) , I now venture into an area I have little knowledge of.... amps. 99% of the amps I've played, I've bought with a 6 string in mind, but now with my 7, I want to get one best suited for low frequencies. Only added issue is that the amp couldn't be any bigger than a 2x12, as my neighbors have sensitive 911 dialing fingers. Hell the little line6 spider 3 1x12 is enough to rattle the windows.

The tone that Im trying to at least get close to would be the dirty guitars in Ra - Fallen Rock Zone .

As far as I know our guitars are the same tonewoods so I should be able to get close, but Im not sure which route to look down. Initially i was looking at Mark 4s and 5s, but that was before i picked up a 7, so I wanted to see what you all would recommend? I have no personal favs so pretty open mind. And so far the only amps ive played through were either 1x12 combos or head/4x12 cab, so ive no real experience in the in-between realms. I know i cant get a mesa Dual Rec with a mesa 4x12 cab and play at a low volume because the tone would blow dogs for quarters and id burn the head out. So im reaching out for advice as I dont know where to start lol. The only equipment I currently have in my signal chain is a Morley Tremonti wah and an ISP Decimator pedal..... rather simple setup.

2. DudeManBrother

DudeManBrother Hey...how did everybody get in my room?

What tuning are you planning on using?I don’t typically tune any of my 7s below A, but I’ve never felt any of my amps are more geared toward 6 or 7 strings. You can get a dual rectifier or mark IV or whatever you want really. Just grab a 2x12 to go with it and play

3. NateFalcon

NateFalcon If you’re lying...I’ll be back