7 string tuning for djent and djazz?

Discussion in 'Jazz, Acoustic, Classical & Fingerstyle' started by TylerEstes, Feb 23, 2014.

1. TylerEstes

TylerEstes Sheeeeeeeit

So I have a 7 string with a 25.5 in scale length and was about to tune to drop A (a-e-a-d-g-b-e) with my strings being 62-52-42-30-17-13-10 but the tension was too high and I couldn't tune the strings to those notes because they'd break. What's a good tuning for 7 string that I can use for some djent type stuff as well as jazz?

EDIT: I just realized that what I just tried is just standard tuning with a low A because I'm....slow. I used to play in drop C (c-g-c-f-a-d). Would that be good for jazz? Sorry if that's a no0b question, I'm still very new to jazz. Jazz.

I just tried A-C-F#-C on the low strings (can't go any higher than F#) and it sounds pretty terrible. I'm sure they don't go together, but I don't know what strings go to what tuning or anything like that.

2. TheKindred

TheKindred TimeTravel Innovator

Jazz.

jazz.

Jazz.

Any tuning is good for any music. It's all just vibrations, man. Do whatever you want with them.

3. TylerEstes

TylerEstes Sheeeeeeeit

Oh okay. I wasn't sure if one tuning would be bad for it or not. Like standard tuning really wouldn't suit most types of music that I listen to but it would with others.

4. jeremyc

jeremyc SS.org Regular

5. rockskate4x

rockskate4x rockskate4x

There is something wrong with your guitar if you are breaking those strings before reaching E standard/drop A. 10-52 sets feel a bit tight in standard but strings shouldn't be breaking. Where are the strings breaking? At the tuner? At the bridge saddle? Are any specific strings breaking more than others?

6. Daken1134

Daken1134 SS.org Regular