6505+ issue?

Discussion in 'Gear & Equipment' started by Collapse, Nov 8, 2009.

  1. Collapse

    Collapse SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    292
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    NewGlasgow,NS Canada
    well plugged into my 6505+ today and turned the standby on any I played for 10sec and the standby light went out and no more sound. what would cause this. The amp still has power but no sound. any help would be great

    anyone have this issue before?
     
  2. Leuchty

    Leuchty Previously CYBERSYN

    Messages:
    6,692
    Likes Received:
    385
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Australia
    hmmmm...

    check the fuses? Tubes?

    Have you done anything different lately?
     
  3. Collapse

    Collapse SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    292
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    NewGlasgow,NS Canada
    tubes are glowing except the first two preamp tubes, are they suppose to glow? how many fuses are in these amps?
     
  4. Collapse

    Collapse SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    292
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    NewGlasgow,NS Canada
  5. MaxOfMetal

    MaxOfMetal Likes trem wankery. Super Moderator

    Messages:
    25,914
    Likes Received:
    2,772
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    Seems like a tube issue. Have you tried contacting Peavey's customer support or consulted your manual?
     
  6. Leuchty

    Leuchty Previously CYBERSYN

    Messages:
    6,692
    Likes Received:
    385
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Australia
    The first 2 are NOT glowing?

    That could be it. Do you mean the ones closest to the input?

    Should be just one external fuse you can check, on the back.
     
  7. Collapse

    Collapse SS.org Regular

    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    292
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Location:
    NewGlasgow,NS Canada
    the first two of the six small preamp tubes are not glowing, the four power tubes are glowing.
     
  8. Leuchty

    Leuchty Previously CYBERSYN

    Messages:
    6,692
    Likes Received:
    385
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    Sunny Coast, Australia
    I really think your tubes are shot.

    Do you have any spares? Take one out of you 5150II and try it out.
     
  9. budda

    budda Guiterrorizer Contributor

    Messages:
    21,316
    Likes Received:
    1,477
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    London ONT
    Your preamp tubes are supposed to have covers on and you shouldn't be able to see them, unless you took the covers off for the purpose of diagnosing your amp (which is fine).

    Did you try every channel? Your 12AX7's are part of the preamp stage, so if the power section doesn't see any signal, then no sound will come out.
     

Share This Page