6 String Bass Tuning

Discussion in 'Bass Guitar Discussion' started by Czar_4514, Jul 28, 2011.

1. Czar_4514

Czar_4514 SS.org Regular

I play an Ibanez 6 string bass and haven't really tuned lower than Drop C but Im going to be trying out for a band and they are in Drop Ab.Now I feel like a complete noob but what exactly is Drop Ab tuning for 6 string bass and what gauge strings do you recommend?

The music is a very progressive feel.

2. Origin

Origin Rainbow In The Dark

Drop Ab would require tuning down the low B string 3 semitones and the rest one semitone, I'm pretty sure. So high to low it would be

B
    Gb
    Db
    Ab
    Eb
    Ab

I'd recommend a fairly thick gauge compared to regular ones, but nothing insanely huge. It's not short-scale so slightly thick strings would do fine :yesway:

3. Demeyes

Demeyes SS.org Regular

I'd tune the whole six strings down a half step with a dropped low string to AbEbAbDbGbB. I'm not sure what gauge would be best, what scale is the bass?

4. Czar_4514

Czar_4514 SS.org Regular

Its a 34' scale length.
    I like how GHS Boomers feel but I dont think they make 6-string bass strings if Im not mistaken.What would you recommend?

And thanks again you guys.

5. SirMyghin

SirMyghin The Dirt Guy Contributor

for Ab you are going to want at least a .135 on the Ab, that is about the biggest 'standard' size unfortunately. This is the plight of 34" scales, maybe try DR DDTs or something, I use a .125 of that inplace of the .135 I used to use for low B on my 5 banger and it feels better and is very clear. I would still go heavier for lower though.

6. danieluber1337

danieluber1337 ☻☺☻☼☺☻☺

I would try Elixir strings.

I.

Love.

Elixir.

Strings.

I'm trying to see if they will manufacture a 0.060" gauge string for guitar, and make a 7-string set that's for drop G or Ab.