37, metalhead, wants to tackle classical seriously...please help me

Discussion in 'Jazz, Acoustic, Classical & Fingerstyle' started by OmegaSlayer, May 23, 2015.

1. OmegaSlayer

OmegaSlayer SS.org Regular

So, I want to learn to seriously play classical guitar.
    I have almost 25 years of experience on electric, know enough of theory and reading musical sheets. (Read the enough as an average knowledge for musicians)
    Now, I always messed with classical guitar, fingerstyles, etc... but never seriously.
    My right hand pima are pretty fast but some kind of uncontrolled and my fretting hand has lost lots of strength to play chords on a classical.
    But what gives me the most trouble is playing a bass chord with thumb and another string with index, medium, or ring finger at the same time, it sends me out of mind and it reflects on my left hand too that makes mistakes.

I am self thaught and it worked on electric, but here, I don't even know where to start from.
    I obviously started to learn very badly and randomly, I started to correct stuff with exercises that helped me to develope speed on pimami but I hadn't actually learn to play.
    I feel some kind of progress but it's totally random.

So, being the kind of guy that needs to learn with actual music and not exercises, I need to know where to start from.

I'm not into classical guitar music, so I don't even know what to look for, what to try to learn.

Is there someone who would help saying "you should try this for the first week", then if you nail it, we'll discuss the next week plan"

Thanks guys.

2. vansinn

vansinn ShredNeck into Beck

Start by shopping a foldable footrest, and learn to sit correct with a fairly straight back with your guitar at a fair upwards angle on your left leg (assuming you're so-called right handed).

Next, learn to rest you strumming arm for a natural angle and strumming position, and work on strumming very slowly, one finger at a time.