2nd master buss

Discussion in 'Recording Studio' started by linguos, Sep 10, 2018.

1. linguos

linguos SS.org Regular

I'm really new with using DAWs, specfically Reaper, and I'm trying to create a 2nd master buss to separate the instrumental from vocals. I have my guitars, bass and drums all in their own busses and so far have failed to route them to a 2nd master buss. Can anyone help?

2. TedEH

TedEH Cromulent

I've always found the easiest way to manage routing in Reaper was to just group things into folders. Everything in a folder gets routed to it's parent track instead of the master. So I'd setup a folder hierarchy something like this:

Master
    - Drums
    - - Snare
    - - Kick
    - - Overhead
    - - - Left
    - - - Right
    - - Etc
    - Guitars
    - - Left
    - - - Mic1
    - - - Mic2
    - - Right
    - - - Mic1
    - - - Mic2
    - Bass
    - - DI
    - - Hi
    - - Low
    - Vocals
    - - Lead
    - - Backing
    ....etc....

Edit: Tried to space it out nicely, but the forum ate the whitespace, so we get dashes instead.

Vince likes this.
  3. GunpointMetal

GunpointMetal SS.org Regular