2010 Schecter Line FAIL (IMO)

Discussion in 'Sevenstring Guitars' started by audibleE, Jan 15, 2010.

1. audibleE

audibleE SS.org Regular

I'm very sad. The new 2010 Schecter line seems to have missed the boat in my opinion and not listened to the current guitarist trends. I'm sure there are going to be many of you yelling at me but here's my reasons:

1. The Schecter website. Mostly built in Flash. By day I'm a web/graphic designer so I know what's what. Slow page builds, if you have a slow connection, fug'ed about it. Remember the current attention span of avid web users is 3-5 sec. (click)

2. The new look of promotional materials? Very late 80's space/tech cheesy look. Horrible. They even used the Star Wars perspective type for the credits... C'mon? Who's nephew did the new corporate identity?

3. The half inch abalone binding on most of the models still looks wretched.

4. Chrome pickup covers?
    They're not Les Pauls, so they look retarded. (yes the Solo-6 series look like Les Pauls, so...yeah.)

5. Color options. Still boring red, black and white on the customs. Yes, yes there are some blue, sunburst, see thru and standard satin finishes. But they don't seem to be "2010" colors.

6. How many of you actually use 3 tone knobs on a guitar? Some don't even use the tone knob at all. Loathe that they clunk up the guitars with 3 knobs. The one good model that has one volume, Loomis. Wasn't there suppose to be a black satin one shown on the website, but has since disappeared?

--

The few decent ones: Gold Top Tempest, the Blue Damien Elite: Solo

I know I'm being really picky and bitchy but compared to the other guitar companies, the Schecters look a little behind the times.