20 years old, just started running, trimming the fat. Advice/motivation desired

Discussion in 'Lifestyle, Health, Fitness & Food' started by jonajon91, May 16, 2015.

Tags:
  1. jonajon91

jonajon91 New Picture

So it seems that my simple uni life munching on pringles in front of the computer is not doing my body any wonders (pictured bellow). I've never been a very active person, I did plenty of biking, but never any sports. Since uni started last year, this lack of doing anything has only amplified. I'm not looking to become built or buff through lifting or anything, i'd just like to be a little more in shape. Tonight I went on my first little run and to be honest it did not go brilliantly, but i'm sure that will change.
    [​IMG]
    If I had to guess, I think I ended up walking around two thirds of this distance, it was always fast walking and I was really trying to keep down to a minimum, but it turns out that i'm not too good at this fitness stuff. Also, I forgot to press go on my app, I actually went from the red dot to the shop and back. I think my biggest mistake was that when I was running, I was running to quickly and wearing myself out, on the way back, I kept the speed down to a steady jog and I was able to run/jog all the way home (just).
    Also, I figured that if I ran at night, then no one would see me and that seemed to go quite well. The three things I have learnt tonight are to keep the speed down when running, wear a belt to stop jeans falling down and bring a bottle of water.

If I did a short run like this every night or any other night, how long would it take for me to notice any difference in either how well i'm running or how that excess belly fat to start shrinking?

I was at a BBQ earlier and had two large bottles of beer, will this have effected my run at all?

Do you guys have any advice on starting running for someone that has no idea?

If I was really struggling, would it be better to stop and rest for a moment or to keep walking?