homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Standard Guitars
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Standard Guitars Six string, standard guitar discussion here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 08-09-2011, 07:08 AM   #1
ss.org Regular

zuhairreza is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
High e string produces echo/sitar-like noise on some frets, when others are in tune.

Hello sevenstring community!!!

Well, I am a new user and I have been playing guitar for 2 years by myself. Yesterday I changed strings on my Gibson Flying V, tuned up to standard E and went to check it out, only to realize that the high e (1st string) gives off an unwanted feedback, like a "sitar"/echo noise, when I play several middle frets together (frets 4-8). This happens when I play several notes, not one only.

I checked my tuning, intonation, truss rod, action, pickup height, etc, etc, anything that came to mind. Those seemed fine. However, later that day I noticed that the high e plays perfectly, no echo/sitar like noise or any type of unusual feedback, when the other five are not in tune. Whenever I tune up strings 6 through 2, the high e sounds like that.

What's happening here and how can I fix it?!!
zuhairreza is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Seven String

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Unread 08-09-2011, 07:12 AM   #2
SS.org Regular

atticmike is a jewel in the rough
huh ? Still sounds like a mechanical issue. Did you try to adjust the saddle of the highest string?
atticmike is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-09-2011, 07:13 AM   #3
Likes trem wankery.
Super Moderator