homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Bass Guitar Discussion
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Bass Guitar Discussion All bass guitar related discussion here.

Old 07-28-2011, 10:04 PM   #1
Czar_4514
ss.org Regular

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question 6 String Bass Tuning

I play an Ibanez 6 string bass and haven't really tuned lower than Drop C but Im going to be trying out for a band and they are in Drop Ab.Now I feel like a complete noob but what exactly is Drop Ab tuning for 6 string bass and what gauge strings do you recommend?

The music is a very progressive feel.
Czar_4514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 07-28-2011, 10:14 PM   #2
Origin
Rainbow In The Dark

Feedback Score: 16 reviews
Drop Ab would require tuning down the low B string 3 semitones and the rest one semitone, I'm pretty sure. So high to low it would be

B
Gb
Db
Ab
Eb
Ab

I'd recommend a fairly thick gauge compared to regular ones, but nothing insanely huge. It's not short-scale so slightly thick strings would do fine

Praise the sun!
Origin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 10:15 PM   #3
Demeyes
SS.org Regular

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
I'd tune the whole six strings down a half step with a dropped low string to AbEbAbDbGbB. I'm not sure what gauge would be best, what scale is the bass?
Demeyes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2011, 10:20 PM   #4
Czar_4514
ss.org Regular

Its a 34' scale length.
I like how GHS Boomers feel but I dont think they make 6-string bass strings if Im not mistaken.What would you recommend?

And thanks again you guys.
Old 07-28-2011, 10:33 PM   #5
SirMyghin
The Dirt Guy