homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations Luthier builds, restorations and modifications, luthier tools and supplies.

Old 10-22-2010, 07:41 AM   #1
airpanos
Let's Rock

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A heavy flyin-V

Hi to all there,i want to build a custom 7 string guitar,i have a lot of experience with woodwork,but i've never try that one.
The specs will be:A longer neck,probably 10 cm longer than the usual,and i want to do a solid construction so i will make it neck -through.
2 humbuckers maybe active,i haven't decide it yet,and i think to put a fernandes sustainer.
The bridge will be solid,no trem and stuff.
I need some opinion for the wood,will pine do the work? It's the only wood available for the moment,i've read they use it on old telecasters,but will it work for a heavy metal guitar?
Any advice will be acceptable thanks!
airpanos is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 10-22-2010, 01:22 PM   #2
airpanos
Let's Rock

Well,anyone who has experience on guitar building could give me some tips?
Old 10-22-2010, 02:18 PM   #3
RestorationAD
SS.org Regular

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Pine will be fine as a body wood. It is very musical. There are considerations with pine. Try to find good clear dry pine. Pine knots are horrible. They move and spew sap for years... also Pine is very sappy so make sure you get a good dry piece.

Pine will not work for the neck though. You will need a harder wood for that.

And any guitar can be a heavy metal guitar... the dude playing it makes it metal. \m/
What you want to do is build the best sounding guitar you can then let the player dictate what it plays.

Check the "woods for a metal guitar" thread
RestorationAD is offline   Reply With Quote