homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Sevenstring Guitars
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Sevenstring Guitars Discuss all aspects of seven string guitars here.

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Stealthdjentstic
  • 1 Post By Don Vito

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 06-10-2012, 03:20 AM   #1
The Smurfslayer

The Logician is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Carvin Dilemma - Should it stay or should it go?

Hello, Forum --

I am a 16 year-old guitarist from Portland, OR, and I've recently gotten into seven-string guitars (I know I may seem young and noobish, but I get by). Anyway, I bought a Carvin DC727 a few months ago for about $925 (before shipping).

Here are the things I like about the guitar:
-The finish is flawless (the color combo is gaudy, but I like it that way).
-The neck, while cumbersome at first, became comfortable quite quickly.
-It's not heavy at all!

However, I have some issues:
-The 25.5-inch scale length doesn't cut it for the low string... I like my strings to be taut with low action so I can play them like a piano.
-The controls are irritating -- the guitar came with two coil-splitting switches, but they are too close to the pickup selector, and that makes it very difficult to switch to my neck pup in a pinch.
-The pups aren't very good... I can't seem to find a rhythm sounds with enough clarity.
-I don't love the independent-saddle bridge. I'm having a lot of trouble finding that sweet spot with the action (when it plays just right, it buzzes). I had a luthier check it out, but he didn't help.

Overall, it's not as lovely to play as my other guitars [Carvin CT624 & Rally Blue Harlem (killer Korean-made Jazz Box!)]

In addition, I recently ran into this beauty:
Agile Intrepid Pro Dual 72728 EB CA Oceanburst DOT B Stock - RondoMusic.com