homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Recording Studio
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Recording Studio Discussion on everything recording based, such as mixing, mastering, mics, monitors and other gear.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-31-2012, 07:16 PM   #1
ss.org Regular

Mauled will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Pleasehelp me improve my tone (Veil of maya content)

Hi, i'm fairly new to mixing. I recorded a short sample cover of the breakdown on the song Punisher by Veil Of Maya.

Here is the clip: Punisher Test by TripleXFTW on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free

Here is the exact clip again, but with the drums soloed (with the same mixing): Punisher Drums by TripleXFTW on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free

I like the sound of the drums, i found a setup somewhere and tweaked it and added parallel compression, and other things. What do you think of them?

I'm not trying to clone VoM's sound at all, what I'm trying to do is use this for basis to craft my own sound. I'm looking for a more in your face type of sound, a sound that covers the whole spectrum well, but im not sure how to get it.

Can you guys give me tips on where to go next to improve this mix? EQ tips, compression, etc?
Mauled is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Seven String

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Unread 05-31-2012, 09:13 PM   #2
Sojourner

Splinterhead is a glorious beacon of lightSplinterhead is a glorious beacon of lightSplinterhead is a glorious beacon of light