homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Recording Studio
Heritage Guitar Talk - Click here! LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter
  
Recording Studio Discussion on everything recording based, such as mixing, mastering, mics, monitors and other gear.

Like Tree48Likes

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-18-2011, 12:22 PM   #1
Needs more strings
 
EtherealEntity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southend-on-Sea, Essex, U.K
Posts: 9,606
Thanked: 98
EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Superior Drummer Q&A

Okay..where are these meant to be installed? Installer didn't seem to work and I can't actually find where the already included presets are on my computer either.

EDIT: Think I am using an older version, updating.
EtherealEntity is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Seven String

Beitrag Sponsored Links

__________________
This advertising will not be shown in this way to registered members.
Register your free account today and become a member on SevenString.org
   
Unread 01-18-2011, 09:32 PM   #2
ss.org Regular
 
Jakedudebro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 3
Thanked: 0
Jakedudebro is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by EtherealEntity View Post
Okay..where are these meant to be installed? Installer didn't seem to work and I can't actually find where the already included presets are on my computer either.

EDIT: Think I am using an older version, updating.
I'm having this same problem, but I know for a fact that I'm using the latest version, and the problem still persists. Any ideas?
musicmaster55 likes this.
Jakedudebro is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-18-2011, 10:13 PM   #3
Sir Mattafer
 
Opion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 651
Thanked: 6
Opion is a jewel in the rough
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakedudebro View Post
I'm having this same problem, but I know for a fact that I'm using the latest version, and the problem still persists. Any ideas?
Thirding in with this confusion - bought the download and there's no authorization process as usual with the Metal Foundry expansions and such. Helpppppp O.O
musicmaster55 likes this.

My originals & mix test clips - slowly but surely growing:
http://soundcloud.com/opion
http://www.soundclick.com/members/de...member=opion59
Opion is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-19-2011, 05:11 AM   #4
Needs more strings
 
EtherealEntity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southend-on-Sea, Essex, U.K
Posts: 9,606
Thanked: 98
EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
For those of you having problems - have you definately checked the Toontrack website and downloaded again? It's V2.2.3, and if you are using 64 bit it should say 64 bit next to the version. I thought I was fully updated because I had downloaded the most recent file on the Toontrack website. However, I redownloaded it and the content of the download had actually changed.

The presets are Combined Presets from the Load/Save menu, and as far as I can tell do not give the option to load individal channels in the mixer.
EtherealEntity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-19-2011, 10:24 AM   #5
ss.org Regular
 
jameslabrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Österäng, Västra Götaland Sweden
Posts: 5
Thanked: 0
jameslabrie is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
First post!
I bought the preset yesterday, but I can't get it in SD. It says it's an "unix"-file and I can't load it in the load/save window. Some advice would be appreciated, thanks!
musicmaster55 likes this.
jameslabrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-19-2011, 11:22 AM   #6
Chug Life
 
themike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,208
Thanked: 66
themike is pretty much the man.themike is pretty much the man.themike is pretty much the man.themike is pretty much the man.themike is pretty much the man.themike is pretty much the man.themike is pretty much the man.themike is pretty much the man.themike is pretty much the man.
Feedback Score: 8 reviews

Ut oh - looks like Dream Theater is going to be using Superior with Misha's presets on the next album
themike is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-19-2011, 11:35 AM   #7
ss.org Regular
 
jameslabrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Österäng, Västra Götaland Sweden
Posts: 5
Thanked: 0
jameslabrie is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by th3m1ke View Post
Ut oh - looks like Dream Theater is going to be using Superior with Misha's presets on the next album
musicmaster55 likes this.
jameslabrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-19-2011, 11:39 AM   #8
ss.org Regular
 
jameslabrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Österäng, Västra Götaland Sweden
Posts: 5
Thanked: 0
jameslabrie is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Seriously though, do I need to convert/open the unix-file somehow to get the .s20 files out from it?
musicmaster55 likes this.
jameslabrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-19-2011, 12:09 PM   #9
ss.org Regular
 
Jakedudebro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 3
Thanked: 0
Jakedudebro is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by EtherealEntity View Post
For those of you having problems - have you definately checked the Toontrack website and downloaded again? It's V2.2.3, and if you are using 64 bit it should say 64 bit next to the version. I thought I was fully updated because I had downloaded the most recent file on the Toontrack website. However, I redownloaded it and the content of the download had actually changed.

The presets are Combined Presets from the Load/Save menu, and as far as I can tell do not give the option to load individal channels in the mixer.
Yeah, I'm running version 2.2.3 and the presets still won't show up. I've tried just about everything.
Jakedudebro is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-19-2011, 12:22 PM   #10
ss.org Regular
 
jameslabrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Österäng, Västra Götaland Sweden
Posts: 5
Thanked: 0
jameslabrie is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakedudebro View Post
Yeah, I'm running version 2.2.3 and the presets still won't show up. I've tried just about everything.
+1
musicmaster55 likes this.
jameslabrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-19-2011, 02:47 PM   #11
Needs more strings
 
EtherealEntity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southend-on-Sea, Essex, U.K
Posts: 9,606
Thanked: 98
EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jameslabrie View Post
Seriously though, do I need to convert/open the unix-file somehow to get the .s20 files out from it?
I don't know what the unix file is. In my download I got an installer and a readme. The read me basically says just run the installer and it will put the files in the correct place. It worked for me once I was running the latest version of SD.

For those of you who can't get the presets to show..sorry, I've no idea. I suggest going to the Toontrack forum.
EtherealEntity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-19-2011, 02:48 PM   #12
ss.org Regular
 
Jakedudebro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Saginaw, MI
Posts: 3
Thanked: 0
Jakedudebro is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Problem solved: it's not part of The Metal Foundry, it's part of the N.Y. Avatar.
Jakedudebro is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-19-2011, 03:46 PM   #13
Sir Mattafer
 
Opion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 651
Thanked: 6
Opion is a jewel in the rough
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I even tried installing v.2.2.3 and it still says v.2.2.1. Kinda strange, I've done all the uninstalling/reinstalling I can do. Even the support is no help...I downloaded the thrash/death packs in the same way with no problems at all. .... :/

My originals & mix test clips - slowly but surely growing:
http://soundcloud.com/opion
http://www.soundclick.com/members/de...member=opion59
Opion is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-19-2011, 04:12 PM   #14
ss.org Regular
 
jameslabrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Österäng, Västra Götaland Sweden
Posts: 5
Thanked: 0
jameslabrie is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I fixed it, I didn't realize I had not upgraded to 2.2.3 yet, that solved the problem. Thanks for trying to help anyways
musicmaster55 likes this.
jameslabrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-19-2011, 05:29 PM   #15
Needs more strings
 
EtherealEntity's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Southend-on-Sea, Essex, U.K
Posts: 9,606
Thanked: 98
EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.EtherealEntity is the epitome of metal.
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Opion View Post
I even tried installing v.2.2.3 and it still says v.2.2.1. Kinda strange, I've done all the uninstalling/reinstalling I can do. Even the support is no help...I downloaded the thrash/death packs in the same way with no problems at all. .... :/
Maybe you need to relocate/update the plugin from your DAW. Maybe it's still seeing the old one somehow.
EtherealEntity is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-21-2011, 03:52 PM   #16
PTP
SS.org Regular
 
PTP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Richmond
Posts: 149
Thanked: 9
PTP is a jewel in the rough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sometimes when I try to use Superior Drummer there's no sound at all. The volume bar in the DAW is moving but its just red instead of the normal spectrum of green to yellow to red. It's really annoying.
Luke Dowsett likes this.
PTP is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-22-2011, 12:29 PM   #17
Djentlemens :)
 
clems6belio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bordeaux
Posts: 115
Thanked: 12
clems6belio is a jewel in the rough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I've just bought the preset pack, it's an .exe file so I guess it's a patch.
Install is automatic, but I CAN'T find the preset in Superior 2.0 ?
What I have to do to load it ??
clems6belio is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-22-2011, 02:22 PM   #18
Smells like updog
 
Nakon14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: MD
Posts: 140
Thanked: 5
Nakon14 is a jewel in the rough
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
@Clems6belio, make sure that you have the most recent update of Superior installed on your computer. That a problem a lot of people, myself included, have had with getting this to work but it's a pretty easy fix!
musicmaster55 likes this.

Stay hungry, stay foolish
Nakon14 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-23-2011, 04:09 PM   #19
Djentlemens :)
 
clems6belio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bordeaux
Posts: 115
Thanked: 12
clems6belio is a jewel in the rough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nakon14 View Post
@Clems6belio, make sure that you have the most recent update of Superior installed on your computer. That a problem a lot of people, myself included, have had with getting this to work but it's a pretty easy fix!
Thanks for your help.
I was thinking that the preset works only with the most recent version.
But, another question : Is this most recent version is the "Superior Drummer 2.0 Crossgrade" which cost roughtly 160€ ??
This https://www.toontrack.com/products.asp?item=34 ??
This isn't so pretty easy then :S
clems6belio is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-23-2011, 08:26 PM   #20
SS.org Regular
 
CAPTAIN SARG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: cape coral
Posts: 275
Thanked: 7
CAPTAIN SARG can only hope to improve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
What do you use to program the drums? a Midi keyboard?
musicmaster55 likes this.
CAPTAIN SARG is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-24-2011, 04:33 AM   #21
JP BFR Whore
 
Metalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 2,212
Thanked: 36
Metalus is a glorious beacon of lightMetalus is a glorious beacon of lightMetalus is a glorious beacon of light
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAPTAIN SARG View Post
What do you use to program the drums? a Midi keyboard?
Just out of curiosity, what are the benefits of using a midi keyboard? Can you edit with it in say...Pro Tools?
Metalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-24-2011, 03:18 PM   #22
Djentlemens :)
 
clems6belio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bordeaux
Posts: 115
Thanked: 12
clems6belio is a jewel in the rough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sorry, idiot question, I resolved my problem ^^
clems6belio is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-24-2011, 07:39 PM   #23
PTP
SS.org Regular
 
PTP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Richmond
Posts: 149
Thanked: 9
PTP is a jewel in the rough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTP View Post
Sometimes when I try to use Superior Drummer there's no sound at all. The volume bar in the DAW is moving but its just red instead of the normal spectrum of green to yellow to red. It's really annoying.
I think its because I opened it as an AU instead of VST.

Another question: In Reaper when you open SD it asks if you want to create separate tracks for all the different outs, or just have everything go to one track. What difference does this make in terms of sound?
PTP is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-24-2011, 08:57 PM   #24
SS.org Regular
 
btnation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: chicago
Posts: 105
Thanked: 6
btnation is a jewel in the rough
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Couple things.......
Superior Presets only work with there designated library. exp: Bulb=avatar, sneap=MF, allen morgen=music city

2nd;you must update your Superior drummer to 2.2.3 which is available in your toontrack account under your products, Superior Drummer 2.0

Remember presets dont just show up when you load the kit. You have to make sure you click the load/save tab and select combined presets.

If you continue to have problems or have new one's please feel free to PM me or for a faster result email support@toontrack.com

Director of North American Market Development - Toontrack Music USA inc.
btnation is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-01-2011, 04:25 PM   #25
The Care Cup's Empty
 
Psyy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta
Posts: 280
Thanked: 3
Psyy is a jewel in the rough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAPTAIN SARG View Post
What do you use to program the drums? a Midi keyboard?
Some people like Chimp Spanner use a MIDI keyboard for all their drum tracking. Other people (the majority) just use the piano roll, (or if you're using Cubase, the drum tracking page) and click all the notes on. You have to have some rudimentary knowledge of beats or else your drum track creation will be a long time in the making.
RandoozleXxX likes this.
Psyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13 PM.


Our Network: PRS Guitar Forum | Luthier Forum | SG Guitar Forum | Les Paul Forum | Marshall Amp Forum | Acoustic Guitar Forum

SS.org proudly supports St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Copyright © 2004-2014, SevenString.org. All Rights Reserved.