homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Pickups, Electronics & General Tech
Heritage Guitar Talk - Click here! LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Pickups, Electronics & General Tech Pickup selection, wiring, technical questions & other guitar hardware discussion here.

Like Tree23Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-09-2012, 05:11 PM   #1
SS.org Regular

ulao will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
EMG® 81 and 85 Pickups ( or other active ) question

I got a new Jackson WRXMG with EMG 81 and 85's and mind you I have never used active pickups before. Sounds like crap! Well mainly because its distorted as hell.

So how do you use these thing? First thing I tried was guitar to amp bypassing my effects. No good, so I then tried %25 volume. That got rid of the distortion ( mostly ) but killed the hi's. Using the high gain input helps a bit but still the worst sound I have ever head out of a guitar in my life. So how do you get a nice clean sound out of these?

I'm using a 5150 btw and I dont use the heavy channel because I do all my effects and distortion with my 2101. So its just a nice clean channel.

I hate to rip out pickups on a new guitar, especial if it has a warranty. I sure hope I'm missing something here.

It takes an artist to write music, an ear to make a beat. A song is about writing music not making beats.
ulao is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-09-2012, 05:15 PM   #2
Tears Are My Bidet

HeHasTheJazzHands is pretty much the man.HeHasTheJazzHands is pretty much the man.HeHasTheJazzHands is pretty much the man.HeHasTheJazzHands is pretty much the man.HeHasTheJazzHands is pretty much the man.HeHasTheJazzHands is pretty much the man.HeHasTheJazzHands is pretty much the man.HeHasTheJazzHands is pretty much the man.HeHasTheJazzHands is pretty much the man.