homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Pickups, Electronics & General Tech
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Pickups, Electronics & General Tech Pickup selection, wiring, technical questions & other guitar hardware discussion here.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-18-2010, 10:02 PM   #1
ss.org Regular

CaptSammy will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Schecter Dimarzio PU quest

I have my first 7string arriving tomorrow and looking to tweak her into more af a versatile blues machine.

To be honest its probably placing the cart before the horse, as I am also new to guitars in general and learning.

As an engineer I seem to always want to tweak things BEFORE they show their weaknesses, fault of mine.

My guitar is a Schecter C7 Diamond Series Classic. She has the stock two POTs and a three way switch with a pair of Duncan humbuckers.

I target Blues/Classic Rock/Jazz (in that order) and looking for versatility among that selection with an occasional metal shred to play with.

What would a good pickup selection be and best electronics swap to provide that versatility?

My current plan is a D-Sonic and a PAF7. I am wondering if that is a good fit and if I could gain even more with a push/pull POT upgrade.

I would also be in need of a schematic for the final solution.

I hope this is the best place for this question.

Thanks,
Sam
CaptSammy is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Seven String

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Unread 04-18-2010, 10:12 PM   #2
Likes trem wankery.
Super Moderator