homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques Discussions on Theory, member submitted lessons, practice regimens and everything else.

Like Tree9Likes
  • 1 Post By jack5150
  • 2 Post By InfinityCollision
  • 1 Post By BlueStar
  • 1 Post By Deathbykidd
  • 2 Post By ChronicConsumer
  • 1 Post By jack5150
  • 1 Post By djyngwie

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 08-05-2012, 06:42 AM   #1
ss.org Regular

jack5150 will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Learning resources for self-taught guitarist

I feel as though I'm stuck in a rut and my playing isn't getting any better, I'm sure many of you can appreciate this feeling. My fingers constantly fall into the same positions and I find myself playing the same old stuff.

My problem is that I know virtually no theory. I've memorised various scale shapes along the neck, and have a decent ear which helps me use them at the right time, but that approach leaves a lot to be desired in the way of writing music. I want to be able to identify what I'm playing, what key I'm in, intervals, how to build the various chords, and all the scales/modes etc. All that good stuff

Recommend some good learning resources for a guy like me. I have countless ideas, but need to learn the theory help facilitate them... getting them out of my head, through my fingers, and into world.
Korbain likes this.
jack5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
Alt Today
Seven String

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Unread 08-05-2012, 01:08 PM   #2
Five Align

Lagtastic is just really niceLagtastic is just really nice
1- musictheory.net - You'll be here awhile