homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques Discussions on Theory, member submitted lessons, practice regimens and everything else.

Like Tree10Likes
  • 1 Post By niffnoff
  • 2 Post By Varcolac
  • 1 Post By Solodini
  • 1 Post By Mr. Big Noodles
  • 3 Post By VBCheeseGrater
  • 1 Post By freepower
  • 1 Post By viesczy

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-04-2012, 09:41 AM   #1
SS.org Regular

rchrd_le is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How much theory is enough?

I've been playing for a little over 4 years and I know some scales and memorized some useful patterns.

But unlike most people on SS.org, you guys can name scales, chords, almost anything off the top of your head.

So the main question is, how much theory knowledge does a guitar player need to know to progress in his or her playing?

Do I really need to seriously memorize every scale and chord in the book?
rchrd_le is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Seven String

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Unread 05-04-2012, 09:59 AM   #2
Just another SunBro

niffnoff is a jewel in the rough
In short, no.
Some famous players sometimes don't even know theory, they go by ear.

In long, it's a bit of both, sometimes it is alot better to know what you are playing and what you are doing. If you are writing in A minor or something one day, you may want to think ok I can play the harmonic minor here, then modulate to E here, then mind.... and go B here. It can break off into many different ideas if you think like that. But if you are just started or are seeing people talk continuous "music" don't be daunted or intimidated, some people just talk the language of theory. Some people don't.