homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques Discussions on Theory, member submitted lessons, practice regimens and everything else.

Like Tree7Likes
  • 2 Post By FarBeyondMetal
  • 1 Post By Dayn
  • 2 Post By Solodini
  • 1 Post By Aerospace274
  • 1 Post By Splinterhead

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-01-2012, 08:16 PM   #1
Dat boy

Ibanezrg560 is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Left hand technique opinions

I've been wondering since i started playing about 3 years ago what the "proper" technique for the fretting hand is. I usually play rhythm and low strings with my thumb on the back of the neck and switch to thumb over the neck for leads. What confused me is seeing a video of Chris Broderick playing for megadeth and he had his thumb on the back of the neck constantly and his technique looks incredibly efficient to me. When i tried this though, my wrist would always come into an odd angle and it was uncomfortable, so i stopped for fear of injury . I eventually want to play 7 or 8 string and it seems like fretting hand technique is alot more important than on a 6.

Please give your insight on what you think is right!
thanks in advance, sorry if this has already been mentioned, i searched it and couldn't find anything.
Ibanezrg560 is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Seven String

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Unread 05-01-2012, 10:01 PM   #2
SS.org Regular

FarBeyondMetal will become famous soon enough