homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques Discussions on Theory, member submitted lessons, practice regimens and everything else.

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By TimSE

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-16-2012, 11:34 PM   #1
SS.org Regular

Dakota is a jewel in the rough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Really looking to improve, I've hit a plateu.

I've been playing guitar for almost 8 years now, and I feel like I've reached a place where progress seems a thing of the past.

Ever since watching Thordendal play 'Bleed' online, I've matched his closed hand + all wrist technique, and it serves me well. I play things with much more fluidity; cleanliness/tightness, string skipping, faster picking, etc. I practice to a metronome, and I'm on time. I know about one or two scales perfectly, and for the most part I've trapped myself into playing in and around the pentatonic scale/some harmonic minor.

I don't know all the notes on the fretboard, can barely read music, and I know very little about my instrument and a lot of it's capabilities past my own personal experiences. Don't get me wrong, I can play. Hear for yourself: Dakotak's sounds on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free

But if you listen to this song in particular, it showcases my issue very clearly: Anomaly by Dakotak on SoundCloud - Create, record and share your sounds for free. The solo is boring. It's uninteresting, and I try to make it sound like I know what I'm doing, but I'm not fooling anybody. I want to be able to freely weave in and out of scales and modes, have more tricks up my sleeve, etc. I LOVE MY GUITAR, though it bums me that I'm not all that excited to play it, I've become predictable in my opinion.