homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Music Theory, Lessons & Techniques Discussions on Theory, member submitted lessons, practice regimens and everything else.

Like Tree5Likes
  • 1 Post By SirMyghin
  • 1 Post By 80H
  • 2 Post By Mr. Big Noodles
  • 1 Post By linguos

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 01-30-2012, 01:28 PM   #1
SS.org Regular

linguos is on a distinguished road
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Javier Reyes' YouTube video

So there's this video on YouTube:

Here's playing some particular sort of jazz, and since I'm very new to jazz and have no clue how to learn about what he's doing I'm hoping someone here can help!

BTW, I do know some of the straightforward theory bits like popular diatonic progressions using the standard ionian/aeolian. I know a bit about nondiatonic substitutions, normal things you can Google. That's just on paper though, my ear doesn't translate it that way yet. Anyways from the most basic, "it is this style of jazz", or, "listen to this artist because it's similar", or just straight up helping me on the theoretical approach.

I'm really crossing my fingers on this one!! Hope y'all can help!
linguos is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Seven String

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Unread 01-30-2012, 01:29 PM   #2
SS.org Regular

BTW, as a side note, if anyone knows what guitar he's playing I'd like to know that as well. I'm digging on it pretty hard.
Unread 01-30-2012, 02:36 PM   #3
The Dirt Guy

SirMyghin is shredding to new heights.SirMyghin is shredding to new heights.SirMyghin is shredding to new heights.SirMyghin is shredding to new heights.SirMyghin is shredding to new heights.SirMyghin is shredding to new heights.SirMyghin is shredding to new heights.
Feedback Score: 3 reviews