homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > General Discussion > Member Introductions
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Member Introductions Who are you, how long have you been playing, and what's your story? Post up and say hello!

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 05-02-2009, 11:13 AM   #1
Central Scrutiniser

Prostheta will become famous soon enough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New UK member, and my guitar build!

Hey all! A few people may recognise my nick from the Project Guitar forums. Tis me.

Anyway. I'm a player and builder from sleepy dullard Lincoln in the UK. I've been playing for a good 18 years, and building for 3. I'm not normally a 7-stringer, but whether it's 6 strings, 8, 5 or 4 I do love a great taut chunky low end.

I'm a complete rocket scientist (i'll learn anything just because it's there to be learnt), a dab hand with CAD and 3D modelling suites, plus i'm a practicing Thai boxer training under the UK IKF light middleweight champion. Shame i'm a heavyweight. Every loves to see a fat man fighting though

I registered here as i'm looking for opinions and real-world user opinions on pickups to use in my latest project. I'll do a full build thread elsewhere, but for the purposes of introduction i'll do a little on where i'm at with 7-strings!

Here's a taster of my project "Dark Sabre".

- modified mahogany Ibanez Sabre body
- honduran mahogany neck with central wenge lamination and all-wenge headstock
- Gaboon ebony fingerboard self bound in black ABS
- pearl dot inlays and side markers
- gold Evo fretwire with clipped tangs and semi-hemi fret ends
- TOM bridge with string through body ferrules
- 24 frets over a 26.75" scale with a zero fret
- partial "wave scalloping" between 12th and 24th frets inclusive