homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Luthiery, Modifications & Customizations
Heritage Guitar Talk - Click here! LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Like Tree9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 03-06-2010, 07:57 PM   #1
SS.org Regular

Rokkaholic is just really niceRokkaholic is just really nice
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Project Purple RG build

Alright after lurking for the most part and seeing awesome build threads, I decided to embark on a Purple RG build. Since I didn't like anything Ibanez had to offer in my price range, I decided to give it a go. This is like a father-son project my father and I are doing. Here is how the build is going so far. This is my first build so suggestions are welcome. I was lucky enough that the military base near me had all the woodworking machines to use for a super-cheap hourly rate.
Anyways, enough talk more pics!

Some nice flame maple

Used the shape from my RG for the cutout

Working on the contour

After Day 1 at shop

Back at the shop...

...come home with this

Doing a bit of home-work (really really bad pun I know)...

After Day 3

A bit of sanding to clean it up...

And showing the open spots where we are going to use wood filler

Still have to some fine sanding on the inside, neck pocket, and contour then we wait for the components.

So yeah thats it so far. We are not going to build the neck as this is just out first build. On that note, I have not heard back from Ernie from ET Guitars, has anybody else? Should I check with Jayden Rose as well?
Alejandro Moreno likes this.
Rokkaholic is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Seven String

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Unread 03-06-2010, 07:59 PM   #2
Dr.Poopyalligator