homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Jazz, Acoustic, Classical & Fingerstyle
LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter

Jazz, Acoustic, Classical & Fingerstyle Discussions on all things unplugged, as well as classical and jazz.

Like Tree10Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 04-23-2012, 04:59 AM   #1
SS.org Regular

trippled is a glorious beacon of lighttrippled is a glorious beacon of lighttrippled is a glorious beacon of light
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Learnning Jazz from a book?

Hi,

I've been playing guitar for 8 years, my theory knowledge is very basic,
I know the pentatonic\major\minor\harmonic minor scales very well through all the neck, same goes with Major\Minor\Major 7\dominant 7\minor 7th chords.

I even took a few jazz lessons lately and learned to harmonize the C major scale with triads including their inversions and septh chords and their inversions on each string set.

I think the teacher is great but he's also abit expensive and budget is tight.

What I'm actually interested in is learnning to phrase like tom quayle\holdsworth\guthrie govan, I'm not much into the real jazz thing.

Could you guys recommend me a book that would help me to study in an efficient way more chords, scales, modes and in depth explanations on using these when improvising?

It's very important for me that when learnning new information I'll have a "system" to apply it anywhere on the neck and not just 3-4 shapes.

Another thing is that I feel I dont know the neck that well in terms of which note lies where, I mean, I could find what the 17th fret on the A string would be in a few seconds, but I dont have that time when I improvise.

Your recommendations?
trippled is offline   Reply With Quote
Alt Today
Seven String

Beitrag Sponsored Links

Unread 04-24-2012, 01:04 AM   #2
AEADGBEA