homepage   sevenstring guitars   sevenstring registry   photo gallery   subscription   spy 
Sevenstring.org - The Seven String Guitar Authority
Go Back   SevenString.org > Music Discussion > Gear & Equipment
Heritage Guitar Talk - Click here! LIKE SS.org on Facebook FOLLOW SS.org on Twitter
  
Gear & Equipment Discussions on Racks, Amps, Cabinets, Tube vs. Solid State debates, effects processors, etc.

Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Unread 08-17-2009, 03:13 PM   #1
Wiz
SS.org Regular
 
Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 948
Thanked: 10
Wiz is just really niceWiz is just really nice
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
How to avoid the hum?

I noticed yesterday that my amp hums on channel 1 very noticeably. Moving the power cords around seemed to fix it.

What's the general idea behind avoiding hum? How do you folks make sure that there's as little interference as possible among your pieces of equipment?
Wiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-17-2009, 03:23 PM   #2
SS.org Regular
 
pink freud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4,025
Thanked: 57
pink freud is rather kvlt and tr00. \m/pink freud is rather kvlt and tr00. \m/pink freud is rather kvlt and tr00. \m/pink freud is rather kvlt and tr00. \m/pink freud is rather kvlt and tr00. \m/pink freud is rather kvlt and tr00. \m/pink freud is rather kvlt and tr00. \m/
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Honsestly?

Noise-Gate.

If you move equipment around fairly often, worrying about cable placement is a pain.
pink freud is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-17-2009, 05:05 PM   #3
TheGuiltyUnpunished
 
danenachtrieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wentzville, MO
Posts: 551
Thanked: 26
danenachtrieb is just really nicedanenachtrieb is just really nice
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
noise gate and replace your cables.
danenachtrieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-17-2009, 07:07 PM   #4
Wiz
SS.org Regular
 
Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 948
Thanked: 10
Wiz is just really niceWiz is just really nice
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Well I have a noise-gate inside of the Invader, the prob is that it can only be turned on in channels 2,3,4 which is why I only notice it on channel 1. Do I have to invest in an external noise gate even though I have one in the amp?
Wiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-18-2009, 03:45 AM   #5
stay tuned
 
damigu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,411
Thanked: 11
damigu is just really nicedamigu is just really nice
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
get a power conditioner.

if moving your power cords around affects it, then it is almost certainly a matter of electrical interference.
why it affects only channel 1, i can't say (perhaps a component in channel 1 is closer to the source, or else just more susceptible to the interference).

a power conditioner will clean up any interference and also help reduce ground loops (another common source of hum).
damigu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-18-2009, 03:48 AM   #6
Doom man of Doom.
 
Harry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Melbourne, Aus
Posts: 7,995
Thanked: 61
Harry is rather kvlt and tr00. \m/Harry is rather kvlt and tr00. \m/Harry is rather kvlt and tr00. \m/Harry is rather kvlt and tr00. \m/Harry is rather kvlt and tr00. \m/Harry is rather kvlt and tr00. \m/Harry is rather kvlt and tr00. \m/
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiz View Post
Well I have a noise-gate inside of the Invader, the prob is that it can only be turned on in channels 2,3,4 which is why I only notice it on channel 1. Do I have to invest in an external noise gate even though I have one in the amp?
Get an external one, built in gates are generally never that good compared to a dedicated external gate.
Harry is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-18-2009, 04:11 AM   #7
stay tuned
 
damigu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,411
Thanked: 11
damigu is just really nicedamigu is just really nice
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
gates don't prevent hum!! they just hide it when you're not playing. while you ARE playing, however, you can still hear the hum within your guitar sound.

you need a power conditioner to plug all of your gear into.
damigu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-18-2009, 06:24 PM   #8
Wiz
SS.org Regular
 
Wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 948
Thanked: 10
Wiz is just really niceWiz is just really nice
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Is there a non-rack solution for power conditioners? It seems like they're all meant to work in a rack, and I don't have one
Wiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-18-2009, 07:53 PM   #9
TheGuiltyUnpunished
 
danenachtrieb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wentzville, MO
Posts: 551
Thanked: 26
danenachtrieb is just really nicedanenachtrieb is just really nice
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
furman and other companies do make power strips that reduce hum
danenachtrieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-19-2009, 12:59 AM   #10
stay tuned
 
damigu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 2,411
Thanked: 11
damigu is just really nicedamigu is just really nice
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
just because it is a rack mount unit doesn't mean you *HAVE* to mount it in a rack. you can just set it on top of your amp if you want. the furman units are very sturdily built with all metal construction and could probably be run over by a truck.

but there are some units available that look more like surge strips.
damigu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-19-2009, 01:02 AM   #11
yamyamyam
 
polloymedio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Costa Rica
Posts: 115
Thanked: 7
polloymedio is a jewel in the rough
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
get shielding done to your guitar ASAP!
polloymedio is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-19-2009, 11:06 PM   #12
kayke
 
Mattnh79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Solon, OH
Posts: 99
Thanked: 0
Mattnh79 can only hope to improve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wiz View Post
Well I have a noise-gate inside of the Invader, the prob is that it can only be turned on in channels 2,3,4 which is why I only notice it on channel 1. Do I have to invest in an external noise gate even though I have one in the amp?
Yeah u do need an external noise gate , but they do that because if cannel 1 is clean, a noise gate will .... up the tone, get the decimator, the boss NS-2 colors tone, u can fix that by not putting the threshold knob all the way up but still hear a little hum, but u can leave the threshold knob all the way up on the decimator and it's 100% transparent, and the Rocktron hush's suck tone as well, MXR smart gate just absolutely sucks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by polloymedio View Post
get shielding done to your guitar ASAP!


Quote:
Originally Posted by danenachtrieb View Post
noise gate and replace your cables.


Quote:
Originally Posted by damigu View Post
get a power conditioner.

if moving your power cords around affects it, then it is almost certainly a matter of electrical interference.
why it affects only channel 1, i can't say (perhaps a component in channel 1 is closer to the source, or else just more susceptible to the interference).

a power conditioner will clean up any interference and also help reduce ground loops (another common source of hum).
i recommend the Furman PL Pro DCM rack mount power conditioner w/ digital volt meter

R.I.P. Darrell "Dimebag" Abott 1966-2004

Last edited by Mattnh79; 12-19-2009 at 11:09 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Mattnh79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-19-2009, 11:28 PM   #13
Gearus Pimptasticus
Super Moderator
 
technomancer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Out there, somewhere
Posts: 22,653
Thanked: 229
technomancer is Odin incarnatetechnomancer is Odin incarnatetechnomancer is Odin incarnatetechnomancer is Odin incarnatetechnomancer is Odin incarnatetechnomancer is Odin incarnatetechnomancer is Odin incarnatetechnomancer is Odin incarnatetechnomancer is Odin incarnatetechnomancer is Odin incarnatetechnomancer is Odin incarnatetechnomancer is Odin incarnatetechnomancer is Odin incarnatetechnomancer is Odin incarnatetechnomancer is Odin incarnate
Feedback Score: 37 reviews
I would be willing to bet this was already figured out since the last response in the thread was 4 months ago...

Incoming
It's a surprise

Site Rules. Read Them.
technomancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Our Network: PRS Guitar Forum | Luthier Forum | SG Guitar Forum | Les Paul Forum | Marshall Amp Forum | Acoustic Guitar Forum

SS.org proudly supports St. Jude Children's Research Hospital

Copyright © 2004-2014, SevenString.org. All Rights Reserved.